We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit and Brilliant as ever.”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights and stayed in Chalet 10 - the spa chalet. Again clean as ever with everything you need. We love these chalets as it is not like having just a room - it is like having your own home with grounds Makes a great base for Hanmer and great views of the area. Will always recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Chalets are a wonderful option, as they are not really motels but stand alone units that are comfortable, very clean and well equipped for short or longer stays. There are barbeque facilities to use on the open lawn area that has a view across the nearby hills and valleys. The place is a little away from the town centre but that is no handicap. This is a wonderful place to stay

Room Tip: Units 7,8 and 9 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brians1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed one night in this spotless chalet, charming helpful hosts. The chalet had absolutely everything we needed, spa towel hire was much cheaper than at the hot pools. The chalet was walking distance from restaurants and hot springs.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

A Great Review Alison! Thanks heaps, we very much appreciate you taking timeout to do this review for us - it would be great if you can return to stay with us some day! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Chalets Motel is a great place to stay. The chalets are roomy, spotlessly clean, well equipped and attractively decorated. The beds are sooo comfy! The owners could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend the Chalet Motels to anybody staying in Hanmer Springs.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you so much Graeme ~ that's a super review, and we are so rapt that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very grateful to you for taking the time to do the review, and hope to see you back on another visit to lovely Hanmer Springs! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Chalets Motel is utterly charming! In these days when rooms or cabins are typically crammed together with no regard for privacy or aesthetic appeal, it is really nice to find a place that has very well appointed cabins spaced over a nicely landscaped hillside with views, sun, character, and space for kids to run. In addition, our cabin was impeccably presented. It really is a gem and we'll definitely be back. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Wow James ~ thanks heaps for your awesome review! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoy The Chalets and the environment around us. We agree it's a lovely place to live! We very much appreciate you taking the time to do this reply on Trip Advisor for us, and it would be great if you could return one day! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The owners of this spacious property could not have been more helpful. They were fantastic. Thank you. The chalets are well fitted out with all you could need and are generously spaced giving heaps of privacy. A short stroll to the shops, restaurants and the pools. Thanks guys

Room Tip: I think any chalet would be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hi Janet, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you loved your time here with us at The Chalets. We do appreciate you taking the time to do this review for us, and we hope you can make it back to stay again one day =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We used Trip Advisor when deciding where to stay In the South Island and are glad we did. All the positive comments regarding The Chalets Motel were confirmed. It had everything we required. The service was spot on, Rooms were spotless and comfortable. Views overlooking Hanmer were impressive and only a short walk to the centre of town.With each Chalet being seperate you have your own space, even a garden seat for that morning coffee.The hosts Pat and Jock were very friendly and made you feel welcome. Certainly have no problems in recommending The Chalets Motel to anyone visiting Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Huge thanks for your awesome review! We are just rapt that you your enjoyed your 5 day stay with us so much, and we certainly do appreciate the time you have taken to put this review on Trip Advisor for us. Hope you can return one day! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
772 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £77 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing