We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
424 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Brillant”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

free wifi, great dvd selection, quiet spacious units. Great views, comfortable beds. This is a short 5 minute walk from main shopping area and is quiet. Each unit is separate so no noise from neighbours. I highly recomend. My first choice in Hanmer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    45
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
128
170
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our group of 6 had booked the Chalet 6 which had 2 bed rooms and one bathroom. One bedroom had 3 beds and a pull out bed, the other had two beds. There was a lounge area with sofa and a dining area to accommodate 6 on the table. The kitchen was well equipped. We stayed for one night. There was also a common washer and dryer which could be used for a fee. The whole place was very clean. Andrew was helpful. The check in was very smooth. The free wifi was useful. We were provided with milk on arrival and complimentary news paper in the morning. It was a good place to stay and walking distance from the thermal pools. The location was great overlooking the mountains. Car parking is available outside each chalet. Would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trawelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We checked into chalet no 4 at The Chalets Motel in Hanmer Springs on a lovely afternoon. The motel is situated away from the main road cutting it off from the hustle-bustle of traffic. The property is beautiful and has 10 wooden chalets with car parking and small gardens attached to the chalets. Our chalet no 4 was a 2 bedroom apartment with a fully equipped kitchen and 1 bathroom. Unfortunately, the weather was not on our side and it rained non-stop from late afternoon thereby disallowing us from enjoying the town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed 1 night in the 1 bedroom spa. The chalet had plenty of room and a very large spa. The kitchen was well arranged and had an oven as well as the cooktop and microwave. The motel is a few minutes walk from the cafes and spa/hot springs of Hanmer Springs. The service was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a day in chalet no 4 with two bed rooms and a bathroom. It was raining full day so we were mostly indoors and I don't regret that coz the chalet with its wood interiors was very cosy and beautifully done up. The entire property is beautiful with lot of greenery and our chalet had amazing views overlooking the mountains. The kitchen was fully equipped and the heaters were very efficient. I loved the place and was glad we choose this place to stay at hanmer. The check in and check out were smooth and the lady at the reception was very sweet :) A must stay place :)))

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrVidhiJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Thank you for providing such a clean, friendly and quiet stay on Sunday 18 May. We only stayed one night but personally I found the chalet to be extremely well presented and comfortable. I will be back to stay with my family. The large lounge rooms were brilliant for our group to be able to mix after a visit to the pools and dinner.
Pauline Young
Part of the Timaru Divas Golden Oldies Hockey Team
PS I will also be telling others of your accommodation!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Manager at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
A BIG THANK YOU, Pauline, for your excellent review.
We would love to have you and your family staying in our motel in the future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My family of 7 stayed at The Chalets Motel (Motel 8 and 9) for 1 night on 5th March 2014. Although we arrived at the desk near closing time, Andrew took his time to show us to our two chalets (which were arranged side by side), made sure we were settled down and gave recommendations on the places we could have dinner and breakfast. We also realized he dropped us an email earlier on to check if we were on our way. Very thoughtful.
Both chalets were very clean, comfortable, well-equippred and we loved the cottage feel very much. The whole area was very well maintained and very pleasant to stay in. Free wifi was very much appreciated!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scruffzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing