We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and extras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Garden Motel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
237 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great service and extras”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Owners are friendly, helpful and understanding. We had emailed them a couple of days before about us turning up early, and they said no problem with us dropping off our bags and immediately taking the complimentary towels to the Hanmer Springs hot pools. There's also little bath mats as well as the towels which is a great idea to help get feet dry.

Anyway, as it transpired our room had been made up early and we arrived a little later than expected, so we were able to check in properly then take the towels to the hot pools.

The next morning it was so quiet and the curtains so good that we didn't realise how late it was. After waking up for about 15 mins we checked the time and it was 10:17am, ooops checkout is supposed to be 10am! But they were great about it and staying until 11am wasn't a problem.

Free DVD hire - we didn't use any but looked like there would have been 40 or more.

We stayed in room 8, which had a spa bath, and a kitchenette i.e. a couple of hot plates and microwave, crockery, etc. Of course the usual jug/toaster.

No more than a 5 min walk up to some shops including a takeaway, a superette, a pizza place, and a bar/restaurant.

Little downsides - no little soaps (just small tubes of gel) or conditioner (which would have handy after our hair being in the hot pools), and the bed seemed a bit small for what was supposed to be a queen. Only 3 Sky channels in addition to the free channels. But the early checkin and unexpected late checkout more than made up for those.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

A nice little motel. Friendly and helpful managers. Spacious rooms, good off street parking and spotlessly clean, Alpine Garden Motel offers well priced accomodation in a quiet area of Hanmer Springs only a short stroll up the street to the shops. The bed was comfomy affording good quality sleep in a nice quiet area of town. All the facilities are well maintained and the property is run like a good motel should be. Nothing fancy by any means but well suited to both overnight travellers and longer stayers alike. The Motel kindly offers a towel service if using the nearby Springs and parking for a late departure was no problem. There's plenty of choice for accomodation at Hanmer when it is off season but Alpine Garden would be high on our list for consideration

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Outstanding motel, would definitely stay here again. A very short walk from the shops and pools. The room was clean and spacious with excellent amenities. Full kitchen and free wifi.
Amazing service from the owners.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 213SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga NZ & Sitka AK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

An outstanding motel within easy walking distance of hot springs, but off main road. Large, well-endowed rooms w/ excellent amenities & cooking facilities. Free wi-fi a big plus.Generous seating & spacious table.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Local-knowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for 1night with friends from U.S.A in a nice 2 bedroom unit. Room was spacious,clean and comfortable with lovely little deck to sit and admire the view. Quiet location close to pools etc. Would stay again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Domaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I loved the feel of this motel. It may not have been the newest but it is well loved with immaculate grounds, first class service for the owners, excellent location for pools, top restaurant, views and area to sit outside each unit enhancing a sense of privacy. To have a supply of towels and bath mats to take over to the pools is as added extra for travellers - very handy thanks. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2013

One of the best motels we have stayed in for cleanliness and friendliness of staff. We spent two nights there over New Year with friends and had a wonderful time.The owners were very accommodating re our needs and we can't rate the service and state of the motel unit high enough!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DunMoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#11 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Garden Motel

Property: Alpine Garden Motel
Address: 3 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Garden Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deb and James welcome you. Whether you are passing through or spending time in the Village and surrounds we want your stay with us to be relaxing and refreshing. All of our units are spacious, each with a sunny veranda, spectacular views over the Hanmer Basin and out to the mountains. Only a 5 minute stroll to all that the Village has on offer - the Thermal Pools, cafes and great restaurants. We are a 4 star rated motel and our nine modern units offer accommodation options for most travellers needs - comprising of 4 one bedroom, 2 two bedroom family units and 3 studio spa bath units, all of which are serviced daily. We have free Wi-Fi and free towels for use at the thermal pools. A complimentary paper is delivered Monday-Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpine Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing