We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, very accommodating & good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here two nights and really enjoyed the hospitality of the new owners who have only taken on the role very late 2013. Prior to settling on here we spent an hour walking around town looking for somewhere that had facilities to dry our wet paddling/camping gear. Utimately our choice was easy as Jane and Richard were EXTREMELY accommodating and made a big effort to help us out.

It is an ideal distance from the centre of town and a very easy 5 minute walk in for any able-bodied person. Good value for money and would definitely recommend the place to others.

We will certainly stay there again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkOates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here on the 13th & 14th of January. The first thing we encountered was the huge cheery smile behind the reception counter. This welcome lead us to an incredible two days and nights of opulence and comfort. This motel is placed a short walk to shops, restaraunts and famous pool complex. The hosts did a magnificent of tending our requirements...with a smile !
I personally thank the owners and staff for our wonderfull experience at the Hanmer Springs Scenic Motel.........5 STAR

Alan Smith, Auckland

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a great outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for one night with another couple. Jane and Richard are fantastic hosts, and as we had stayed at another hotel the night before, they let us drop our things off early into our room while it was being made ready for us. Lovely people really accommodating will definitely be staying again. It is only a 10 minute walk into Hanmer town ship and as it was raining they even gave us an umberella :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our stay: 2 bedroom family unit for two nights in December, 2013. NZ$225 p/night.

Motel Location: on the road into town, but not in the heart of town as such. 10 min walk to the thermal pools, but if it is raining (which it often is), then you need to drive which is a pain as car parks can be hard to find.

Facilities: newish looking, clean and tidy. Our room had two bedrooms, one bathroom (disabled access), kitchen / meals and living room. My wife commented that she didn't like the layout. The beds could have been better positioned rather than having the head under the windows. Kitchen had 4 electric cooktops, but no oven or dishwasher. There was a courtyard.

Beds: Small queen in the master was overly firm. You get the feeling that it is 'industrial strength'. I struggled to get comfortable. Two singles in the second room were more comfortable. Window curtains were dusty, and I was sneezing given the bed head was under them. Pillows a little chunky / lumpy.

Bathroom: Shower (no bath) - ours was fitted for disabled access. Vanity. Toilet positioned behind door which was a little cramped. Mixer taps.

Electronic: wireless internet described as 'touchy' and was in fact not working (I paid to hook on to another provider and got slow speed access). TV in the living room, and a second smaller TV in the main bedroom. This was perched high on a cupboard and would have been much better off being bigger and wall mounted. Basic Sky TV.

Furnishings: good. Lounge in the living room was comfortable.

Parking: great - dedicated park right our front. Single story facility.

Windows: no fly screens, a pity as there are biting bugs that prevent you leaving the window open at night.

Servicing: Semi-service. New towels and rubbish removed only.

Owners: very friendly and happy to help. Seemed to be pet friendly based on others who were staying.

Warnings: Tiled entry. Beware if it is wet outside as it can be slippery in the hallway as people enter with wet shoes.

Bonus: Access to the DVD library to entertain the kids on wet weather days. Great idea.

Laundry: Communal pay facilities on site.

Ideas to improve: Pillowtops on beds. Wall mount TV in main bedroom. Re-orientate beds away from under curtains. Get internet working. Shuttle to / from town on wet days. Upgrade Sky TV to include more channels. More information on the local walks / hikes / drives. Provide one set of laundry tokens for one free wash / dry given no laundry facilities in the rooms. Oven / dishwasher.

Overall: Better than average, but not enough to be rated as very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveM0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We only stayed one night in this lovely location of Hanmer Springs. The motel is an easy walk to town and the Springs, it is just out of town so there is no hussle and bussle. The motel room was clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly and willing to assist with local attractions and information. There are more up-market and expensive places to stay, however, this was very good value for money. The scenery was lovely looking at the mountain backdrop and sheep grazing next door. Highly recommended for a clean, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDF237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

3 of stayed here for 1 night, good location close to the springs, easily walking there, rooms are as basic as you can get, no frills.location is good.no proble parking, I will say we had a amazing view out the back. snow covered mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padraig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This motel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of this lovely little town. The motel rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. Parking right outside the room helps with loading and unloading cars. A free voucher for some internet time to download emails etc was much appreciated and there was easily enough for what we needed. Staff pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aspen Lodge Motel
Aspen Lodge Motel
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel

Address: 2 Amuri Avenue, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £77 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Views Motel is proudly New Zealand owned and operated. We pride ourselves in offering our guests a warm, friendly hospitality and first class service. Built of natural stone and timbers, Scenic Views is situated only 400 meters from Hanmer Springs Famed Thermal Pools and village centre, yet offers a feel of country. Magnificent views of mountains and forest from most units. We offer our guests, fully equipped Studios, 2 & 3 Bedroom units, Spa Bath Studio and Private Spa Pool Studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing