We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy apartment in stunning setting”
Review of Hanmer Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanmer Apartments
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Roomy apartment in stunning setting”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We have just stayed here for three nights. It was our first visit to Hanmer Springs and what a stunning place. The apartment had twin beds in a downstairs bedroom and a queen bed in a loft style room upstairs. Great lying in bed looking at the beautiful mountains through the skylights above the lounge. Free wifi, lots of free DVDs to select from, free pool towels. Easy walk into town.
A lovely family break in a beautiful part of NewZealand

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumluhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
thanks for your kind review - our bedding configuration can be singles or king bed downstairs. We do include lots of freebies - like FREE WIFI, FREE Bike hire (road only), FREE DVD's, FREE pool towels etc which most guests enjoy, its how we give value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    73
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
280
123
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We were late to book for the weekend and were so so lucky to get 2 nights at the Hanmer Appatments.
The design is clever, well thought out and the build quality really finnishes the room well. The views are lovely and the prices were very reasonible and certainly makes "a certain large chain hotel in hanmer" seem like an overpriced, old ghetto building in comparrison.
The service was second to none, with friendly owners, plenty of free DVD's for rainy days/nights, free extra towels for the hot pools and free transfers to and from hanmer if you needed them. They even gave us plenty of free internet which was not expected.

It was refreshing to be staying with a real family opperated business and nice to see the owners hard at work the following morning preparing the rooms for the next people.

Having stayed in many motels/hotels throughout hanmer I can happly report that Hanmer Appartments is the best by far in my experience and I look forward to returning next time with some friends.

Room Tip: All units look good, the family one at the end of the building looked really nice. They also have re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
thanks for your kind words - as a small family run business we can afford to take time out to satisfy guests reasonable requests, our "freebies" of unlimited DVDs, free WIFI, free shuttle, free pool towels and free bike hire (road only) do make a difference! thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We loved this accomodation and were sorry we'd only booked for one night! It's beautifully done, spotlessly clean and although it's not in central Hanmer Springs, it's not far on foot or by car. I'd happily recommend and keen to visit if we're ever in the area again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
thanks - we pride ourselves on cleaniness and do recommend people stay longer than 1 night as there is so much to do in Hanmer Springs. The walk to village centre is about 15 minutes from us so we are far enough away to get peace yet close enough to walk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

New 5 star accommodation , spotless and very roomy
Host Shane was very accommodating with excellent advice on activities including recommended dining venue that was a winner .
Only 5 minute drive or leisurely 20 minute stroll to town centre
Excellent value

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
thanks for review - we advertise as 4 1/2 star - but really have most facilities of a 5 star without the 5 star price tag! we try to remain affordable and good value
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed the night at the Hanmer apartments in october - it was clean, quiet and we had a beautiful view on the mountains. The owners were helpful and pleasant - they also lent us a few dvds. I would definitely recommend this little place, which is only a short drive from the shops, and the bungy place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahG12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
thank you for review - we offer plenty of "freebies" - free pool towels for thermal pools, free unlimited DVD's, free WIFI, free road bikes to use and free shuttle into village in evenings for a meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

On arrival, we received some helpful information about what the Hanmer area has to offer and some good suggestions on where to eat. The accommodation was on two floors, spotless and to a high standard. We would definitely stay here again when we are next in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
thanks for your kind words - yes we try to keep abreast of everything that is going on in Hanmer, so that we can inform all our guests - just part of the service! We have three mezzanine 2brm units and one access single storey 2brm unit, all ground floor entry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We needed a midway stop between east and west coasts and heard Hanmer Springs was a great place. Accommodation was ok, managed by a busy young family, so at the mercy of their timeline. Not a big deal but we got in late one evening (830pm), kids wanted to watch a movie and went to office to ck one out from their library. My 9 & 11 y/o's were told the library was closed. The following day, we went back a little earlier. The 'library was located right in the office closet. Something to consider if you need service 'after hours'. Suggested Putt Putt was closed down. Main attraction, the Hanmer Springs Spa, was booked for everything; front desk ladies very rude.

Room Tip: Only 4 units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
thanks for your comments - sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with our service - every other reviewer seems to bewell satisfied! In regards DVDs - you arrived as our office was closing at 8:30pm and came back to office 3 or 4 times after that, last visit being after 9pm, surely you could have asked for DVD's in the other visits? The next night, kids turned up after 8:30pm however we allowed them to choose DVD's even though office was closed. A little planning ahead by yourself would have avoided any little problems! We endeavour to offer excellent service to all customers however they need to have reasonable requests, our office is open 12 hours a day from 8:30am to 8:30pm, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
600 reviews
2.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Apartments

Property: Hanmer Apartments
Address: 4 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanmer Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four exclusive modern (4+ star) affordable, spacious 2 bedroom apartments. FREE WIFI, FREE bike hire, FREE towels for pools, FREE DVD hire, FREE shuttle into town (1.5km away) in evenings. Inclusive of heat pump / air conditioning, electric blankets, SKY TV & Freeview, queen & king / twin beds, fully equipped kitchenette with benchtop oven, electric frypan, microwave oven, kettle & toaster. Patio with BBQ facilities and magnificent alpine views. Huge backyard with trampoline, jungle gym and swing for kids. Relax and unwind in our spacious quiet surroundings just 1km from the world famous Thermal Pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanmer Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing