We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super apartment.”
Review of Hanmer Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanmer Apartments
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super apartment.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Arrived after dark because of a delay on the ferry. Staff very helpful on check-in, and accommodation really clean. Could not believe the view of the mountains when we woke up. Such a lovely location and a nice place to stay - would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
thanks for review - we pride ourselves on being helpful and giving good service as well as a very clean unit. Agree the alpine view from our place is spectacular as you are outside the village and get all day sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    72
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
273
115
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Can't say enough about our stay, BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!!
Am definately impressed with our hosts Shane and Amy...thank you for your hospitality.
Will stay again.
Good to be out of the main stream of things.
Offered bike riding
Great for families and the like

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
thanks for the review - we pride ourselves on hospitality which we can genuinely offer as we only have 4 units in total to look after! We are "out of the mainstream" meaning we are 1.5km from village - so very quiet and a lovely walk / bike ride into village with unique alpine views out here. All our units are 2brm so families and "double couples" enjoy here but we also get just one couple stays as our prices are affordable! thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were travelling with friends and the two bedroom apartment was perfect for two couples. The hosts made our stay very enjoyable and even drove us the short distance to a resturant for our dinner reservation. The apartments are nicely furnished, well equipped and comfortable. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
thank you for your review - yes we get a lot of "double couples" staying here as all four units are 2brm and spacious, comfortable and well equipped, thanks again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed with a friend for 3 nights at Hanmer Apartments, in unit 2. Although we thought the place looked a bit small from the outside, when we went inside we realised how roomy it was. I haven't uploaded pictures to this review because all the existing pictures show exactly what it looks like.

The apartments are roomy, comfortable and (thankfully for those like me who really feel the cold) they have great heating! A split system air-conditioner, electric blankets on the beds and extra blankets in the wardrobes kept me warm the whole stay, even when it was snowing outside. The beds were comfortable and there was little noise from outside, leading to a very good night's sleep.

There's clearly been a great deal of thought put into the accommodation by the hosts. Little extras like special towels to take to the thermal pools, free DVD rentals and free WiFi (up to a very reasonable limit, which we never reached!) were very much appreciated. And although the hosts gave us some great restaurant recommendations (and we can attest to the quality of those recommendations, as we tried most of them out, and the food was delicious!) it was also nice having cooking facilities in the apartments, and we did eat in and cook our own meals a few times.

The views of the mountains surrounding the town were amazing, and it was particularly pleasant to wake in the mornings in the loft bedroom and see the mountains out of the windows set into the roof.

In terms of location, it is very close to town, but especially in cold temperatures you wouldn't want to walk into the village. We drove everywhere, but it only took a couple of minutes, so really easy and convenient.

And last but not least, the hosts Amy and Shane were lovely and friendly, and as they live on-site, are always close by if you have any questions. The day we checked out, they gave us advice about the weather and road conditions for our drive back to Christchurch, and warned us about certain parts of the drive where the roads tend to get icy, which was really thoughtful and helpful.

All in all, the Hanmer Apartments were a great place to stay and we would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Wow - thank you for the many kind words - yes we try to emphasize the modern spacious units, quiet being outside village, free towels for pools, free DVD's, free WIFI. Agree the view from the mezzanine bed is fantastic and we try our best on service! thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rai Valley, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed with our two boys for one night and the apartment was perfect for our needs. Spacious, stylish and warm. Great power shower made up for the dribbly one we'd had at our previous night's accommodation in Wanaka! The boys loved the space and so did we. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
thanks for the review - our units are modern with all the creature comforts of home including a good shower!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Hanmer Apartments were perfect for our needs. They were clean, well appointed, practical, with good facilities. The manager Shane is very helpful in lending DVDs, recommending activities in the area. The self contained kitchen is a small kitchenette but well stocked and certainly an efficient use of space. The heating is excellent and bedding was of good quality. Perfect for our needs. The master bedroom is on a mezzanine level. There are great views from the living room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
thank you - having only 2brm units we do get many families who love the huge backyard but also because we are affordable, we get many couples as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Kauwhata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

After a long drive and delayed ferry we all arrived at hanmer aparments pretty tired. It could not have been better! A very friendly welcome awaited us. The apartment was beautiful and one of the cleanest I've stayed in and was very well kitted out. We woke up the next morning to the most incredible views, the photos just don't do this place justice. Sat drinking the delicious coffee and soaking up the views. Just wish we could have stayed a few extra nights to explore more! Will definitely be back, HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
thanks - yes our alpine views are unique, as we are located 1.5km from the village and therefore have no obstruction to views, plenty of space and quiet! Village views are often blocked by trees and buildings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Apartments

Property: Hanmer Apartments
Address: 4 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanmer Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four exclusive modern (4+ star) affordable, spacious 2 bedroom apartments. FREE WIFI, FREE bike hire, FREE towels for pools, FREE DVD hire, FREE shuttle into town (1.5km away) in evenings. Inclusive of heat pump / air conditioning, electric blankets, SKY TV & Freeview, queen & king / twin beds, fully equipped kitchenette with benchtop oven, electric frypan, microwave oven, kettle & toaster. Patio with BBQ facilities and magnificent alpine views. Huge backyard with trampoline, jungle gym and swing for kids. Relax and unwind in our spacious quiet surroundings just 1km from the world famous Thermal Pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hanmer Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing