We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”
Review of Hanmer Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanmer Apartments
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a family weekend away for my birthday and the Hanmer Apartments were awesome. Relaxing surroundings and our 2 children were content to explore and enjoy. There were 5 of us sharing one apartments and felt we all had space to relax and unwind. The apartments are modern, clean and tidy and we loved the upstairs mezzanine bedroom layout - great views from upstairs too! Really lovely location as we like to get out and walk/run - the distance to the shops and pools isn't far and it was a good excuse to get out and enjoy the scenery. The hosts were so friendly and accommodating and it made our stay feel very "homely".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
thanks for taking the time to review us - yes I agree being out of the village does have its merits as it is so quiet and peaceful here especially compared with some of the village noise in weekends, and we are not too far away! thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    72
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
274
119
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My family and I booked stayed at Hanmer Apartments in August 2013 and we enjoyed our stay. We booked 4 apartments and they are all clean. The furniture is modern and the place is spacious. The toileteries are good quality too (manuka honey). The hotel manager kindly lent us towels to be used for our visit to the Hanmer Springs and that saved us money considering one towel costs $5 and there were 10 of us! The location is not in the middle of Hanmer but Hanmer is tiny so everything is within walking distance. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carefree82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
thank you - yes we have free pool towels along with free wifi, free DVD's and free road bike hire - so lots of extras! thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Hanmer Springs was a great place to visit and Hanmer apartments a great place to stay. Shane was very welcoming when we arrived. Little extras like plenty of wifi, towels for the hot springs and complimentary push bikes to ride the short distance into the centre of the village made the stay very enjoyable. The apartments were very modern and very clean. Shane was also helpful in directing us to good places in town to eat, and we wern't dissapoined. We travelled around the south island for 10 days, and my wife and I agree that Hanmer was the best value for money on our trip.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
thanks for the wonderful review - yes we try hard to provide modern, clean, spacious 2brm units and give you as much help as we can, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We are a family with two teenage kids so space is important. Loved our stay here. Our accommodation was very spacious, clean and modern. Could happily live in it full time. The facilities were great and was a perfect base for exploring the local area. The young couple who run it could not be more helpful, offering help and advice and being understanding when we arrived much later than planned after a long drive up the West Coast. Book here. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
thank you - yes we offer modern, affordable, spacious, 2brm luxury and try to be as helpful as we can! thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A fantastic place to stay. Very clean apartment, well equipped and great value for money. We only stayed for one night, but will definitely stay for longer next time. Shane and Amy were incredibly helpful. A large earthquake occurred at the top of the South Island not long before our arrival, also affecting our hometown of Wellington. They regularly updated us with the news regarding the closing/reopening of the main highway north so we could get home. The kids also loved the apartment. A great place to take a family, nice and quiet, yet only 2 minutes to the hot pools. Looking forward to our next trip to Hanmer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skigirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
thank you, glad you enjoyed staying here, we do offer clean excellent value accommodation and help out where we can, see you next time, remember repeat visitors get a free bottle of wine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mataura
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Amazing place to stay. These apartments are spacious and modern but also very comfortable.We arrived on a very cold day and the apartment was toasty warm. Shane our host was brilliant showed us to our room totally explained everything and was very helpful. We also booked a massage from the in house massage therapist and have to say she is the BEST! therapist ever. Well worth every cent. Also the shower was amazing! We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
thanks for your very kind words - yes our units are warm, well insulated with double glazing and heat pump. I agree the in house massage is devine and yes our showers are fantastic, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Arrived after dark because of a delay on the ferry. Staff very helpful on check-in, and accommodation really clean. Could not believe the view of the mountains when we woke up. Such a lovely location and a nice place to stay - would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
thanks for review - we pride ourselves on being helpful and giving good service as well as a very clean unit. Agree the alpine view from our place is spectacular as you are outside the village and get all day sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
2.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Apartments

Property: Hanmer Apartments
Address: 4 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanmer Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four exclusive modern (4+ star) affordable, spacious 2 bedroom apartments. FREE WIFI, FREE bike hire, FREE towels for pools, FREE DVD hire, FREE shuttle into town (1.5km away) in evenings. Inclusive of heat pump / air conditioning, electric blankets, SKY TV & Freeview, queen & king / twin beds, fully equipped kitchenette with benchtop oven, electric frypan, microwave oven, kettle & toaster. Patio with BBQ facilities and magnificent alpine views. Huge backyard with trampoline, jungle gym and swing for kids. Relax and unwind in our spacious quiet surroundings just 1km from the world famous Thermal Pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hanmer Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing