We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a quiet get away.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanmer Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanmer Apartments
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place for a quiet get away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had an awesome weekend here in a quiet peaceful location just a short drive to the centre of town. Friendly hosts who were very helpful with local knowledge. Transport available into town for visitors not wishing to drive as well as bikes for the more adventurous. Pool towels provided too, great if you happen to have forgotten to bring your own. Highly recommend as a place to get away either as a family, girls weekend away or a couple just wanting a relaxed time away. Thanks for providing such a great place to stay in comfortable and picturesque surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CNDalziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
thank you for mentioning quiet, peaceful, and good local knowledge, we try to please! thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    72
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
265
109
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We just had our second stay at Hanmer Apartments. Fantastic for a family with two bedrooms and a wee kitchenette, with fridge and microwave. Really nice and roomy. The owners are super friendly and always keen to chat. Next time we're in Hanmer we'll be back to stay :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hogeyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
thanks for the review - we are now getting a lot of repeat visitors as they realise the value for money facilities we offer as well as a free bottle of wine for repeat visitors! thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We came to Christchurch to see son, partner and grand daughter (8 Months) and took them to Hanmer Springs for the night, the Hanmer Apartments were an excellent choice. Loads of space inside nice little patio outside for an evening drink and dinner peaceful and quiet, in a place where there is heaps to do.
Right from the time we arrived 'early' to settle the grand daughter down they were most helpful and gave us heaps of advice on what was were and what to do, even offering to drop us in town for dinner and pick up if we wanted tooGreat people in a great place, we'll be back again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
thank you - agree our units have heaps of space and the patio area which leads out to huge backyard, is magic at sunset, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Hanmer Appartments was a great choice of accommodation in which to spend the last two days of our New Zealand trip. The unit was spacious and very comfortable and the setting spectacular.
Our hosts were extremely helpful and ensured that our stay was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
thanks - agree our 2brm units are spacious, views fantastic and our service is second to none! thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here during our travels around NZ and this was one of best places we stayed. The place was exceptionally clean, affordable and the hospitality was outstanding!

It was a pity that we could only stay the one night, but I will definitely re-book here if I go back to Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terri_t_berri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
thank you - agree you need more than just one night here, we try to provide great hospitality and a memorable stay, thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Hamner Appartments is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are spacious and light with pretty views. Warm and very clean. We had our 8 month baby with us which was not a problem. The location is a 15 min walk from the Main Street. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillySut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
thanks - our 2brm units are spacious and a lot of light gets in through the skylight, we pride ourselves on being warm, clean and relaxing, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here on our weekend away and it is safe to say that this accommodation was perfect. We live in Christchurch so we are not new to the Hanmer experience yet staying at the Hanmer Apartments made this visit one to remember, the owners are extremely nice and are always on hand to help with any problems, with the free DVD rental a great idea. On this visit we each got a massage from a local masseuse organised through the accommodation and we both recommend upgrading to the 90 minute one.
This accommodation couldnt of been better for our weekend away!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
thank you - agree the masseuse we have is the best in the village, cheaper than the Thermal Spa and comes to your own unit! what better way to relax, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.0 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Apartments

Property: Hanmer Apartments
Address: 4 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanmer Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four exclusive modern (4+ star) affordable, spacious 2 bedroom apartments. FREE WIFI, FREE bike hire, FREE towels for pools, FREE DVD hire, FREE shuttle into town (1.5km away) in evenings. Inclusive of heat pump / air conditioning, electric blankets, SKY TV & Freeview, queen & king / twin beds, fully equipped kitchenette with benchtop oven, electric frypan, microwave oven, kettle & toaster. Patio with BBQ facilities and magnificent alpine views. Huge backyard with trampoline, jungle gym and swing for kids. Relax and unwind in our spacious quiet surroundings just 1km from the world famous Thermal Pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hanmer Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing