We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect, can't wait to go back!”
Review of Hanmer Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanmer Apartments
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We couldn't have picked a more perfect place for a retreat from the earthquake! Amy and Shane are amazing hosts, and even awesome babysitters!! Our daughter loved playing with their kids - so much so, that Amy even let her help bake some muffins!
The accommodation met our every need, not a single thing they could improve on. can't wait to go back for another stay - would be a great place to stay in the winter and travel to the local ski fields!
We had our 5 year old with us, so was just out of walking distance to the hot pools etc, but when she's a bit older we would use the mountain bikes available to guests.

So, so looking forward to our next stay there, and will be telling eveyone we know to go and stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarvis018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

This place is great. Quietness and warmth is ensured with double glazing, a heat pump and private outdoor dining areas off each room. Our two children (3 and 5 years) loved being able to play with the hosts' ball and the swings in the back garden while we enjoyed watching, sitting outside drinking in the gorgeous view of the snow-capped mountains.

Amy and Shane are very welcoming and they go the extra mile to provide a comfortable environment. The rooms are very clean and provide everything you could need for a short stay. The kitchenette has a hotplate, microwave, fridge and a big plug in frypan which was fine for us for a couple of days. However, if there was something else you needed I'm sure Shane and Amy would try and supply it for you as they are extremely helpful without being in your face.

We love Hanmer and think of it as Queenstown's friendly smaller sister. However many accommodation options here tend to be either very expensive or looking tired. For us, Hanmer Apartments provided high-quality, new accommodation for a good price. I would highly recommend this apartment to families with two children, or four adults traveling together.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We first stayed at Hanmer Apartments a couple of weeks after it was opened in 2009. We liked it so much that it was our first choice for accommodation when we returned to Hanmer Springs a year later and we weren't disappointed.

Amy and Shane continue to provide a friendly and welcoming environment, with well presented accommodation that suits both families and friends alike. The apartments (a short drive or easy walk into the town centre) remain scrupulously clean and well appointed, including kitchen facilities that would allow for easy self-catering. The beautiful outlook from the apartments is also a plus.

I would recommend Hanmer Apartments to anyone wishing to visit Hanmer Springs (which you definitely should!)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mks75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Exceptionally clean apartments with very spacious rooms. Loved the little courtyard out the back where we had an amazing view of the snow capped mountains. Also really appreciated the suggestions for activities and places to eat. A very lovely stay in Hanmer and we will be back! We hope sooner rather than later! Thank you Shane for being a lovely host.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPBrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We usually stay in cabins at camping grounds - so a spash-out on a motel is rare. Hanmer Apartments were worth it! Lovely and spacious, beautifully designed. Very clean. Everything we needed and nice personal touches from the owners too. It was luxury for our family and we'd love to stay again :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemcbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This wonderful family run business provides an immaculate appartment in a lovely setting 2 mins drive to town. We could not fault any part of their service and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, even catering for our teenager with free wifi access. The appartments which are compact but still spacious, appear brand new with quality fittings and we would highly recommend staying here to enjoy the lovely surroundings of Hanmer, the hot springs being the main attraction beside the scenery. We definitely look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hussymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This is a new motel, which we found through the Hamner Springs accommodation website. We were really pleased with what we found. Very helpful and friendly owners, who welcomed us with a free bottle of wine. Motel unit very comfortable and roomy (and warm) and everything worked very well. Kitchen area a wee bit cramped but generally it was fine. In the summer it would be lovely as each unit has its own little patio with nice view out to the mountains. Free WIFI. Located on the edge of the town down a quiet street. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dozydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
503 reviews
1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
773 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
316 reviews
2.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Apartments

Address: 4 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £89 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanmer Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four modern (4+ star) affordable, spacious 2 bedroom apartments. FREE WIFI, FREE towels for pools, FREE DVD hire, FREE shuttle into town (1km away) in evenings. Inclusive of heat pump / air conditioning, electric blankets, SKY TV & Freeview, queen & king / twin beds, fully equipped kitchenette with benchtop oven, electric frypan, microwave oven, kettle & toaster. Patio with BBQ facilities and magnificent alpine views. Huge backyard with trampoline, jungle gym and swing for kids. Relax and unwind in our spacious quiet surroundings just 1km from the world famous Thermal Pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanmer Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing