We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Hanmer Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanmer Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Owner operated backpackers. The owners both previous and current owners are very friendly (I did meet both them). A small yet very cosy backpackers. I would rather say it's more like stay in own house. Everything is clean and organised. The location is close to most of the attractions. Good jobs, Tristan and Edwin!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vjie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed in a double room here and it was cozy, warm and quiet at night. The fire was going in the living area all day and night so it was warm. The kitchen area was very nice and we loved the coffee, kiwis and hot chocolate. There is a nice loft area with couches, games and a large book swap.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caymantiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

After a long day of travelling and uncertainty of road closures due to heavy snowfall we recieved a friendly welcome from the friendly owner and a speedy check in which was much appreciated. Loved the extra touches in the hostel such as free fruit, tea, coffee, spices, milk etc. Hot water bottle in the room was lovely. The rooms were cosy and functional as well as clean. Nice clean well equipped kitchen if you want to cater although the main strip of eateries is only a short distance away (5mins walk). One small gripe was on the night of our stay there was a someone (unsure if he was a guest or staff member) playing computer games loudly in the communal area making it very uncomfortable for us to relax there. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

brilliant, absoutely fantastic, seriously this hostel stands far above most if not all the hostels we stayed in during our 5 month trip! Free ice cream is pure genious and we made some lifelong friends during our 2 nights staying here - the kitchen/dining area was perfect for 8 of us to sit up til midnight getting to know each other. Great location close to a beautiful waterfall walk and some lovely small local shops. My fingers are crossed tightly hoping we get to visit this hostel again. Absolutely spot on.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you so much for that fantabulous review Amanda. Always nice to read our guests have enjoyed themselves. Happy travels. Kind regards, Edwin van de Koolwijk, Owner Hanmer Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

There are already a lot of informative reviews about this backpacker and I don't wanna repeat all the true good things that other travellers said. Just two tips:
1) buy some food since they have a great kitchen with lots of herbs and spices, oil and vinegar, free apples, ice cream, coffee and tea - cooking is great here!
2) make sure that you get a room in the main building - they are cozier and you have the computer, wifi and the kitchen and living room with a great bookshelf right in front of your room.

Room Tip: If you're a couple you'll like the twin room just under the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. Always appreciated and nice to read our guests enjoy your stay at our little hostel. Just in case there is a misunderstanding, our wifi works all over the property, both buildings and stretches as far as across the road. So when the weather allows, enjoy the sunshine in our garden whilst staying in touch with the "electronic" world. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We walked in having booked for one night in a double room and booked another night straight away. Clean and fresh. Wish we had more time.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We lived in a separate room with shower and toilet. This number was not in the main building, he was in a nearby wooden shed. Entrance to the room was only through the laundry. Owners and guests of the hostel are constantly washing laundry and washing machine furiously pounded in our wall until midnight. Washing powder smelled very strongly in our room. Even the open window of the room were unable to save the room from the stink. There were two washbasin, but they were so tiny that my hands did not fit in them. I had to wash my hands in the shower. I read a previous review that the owners had allowed to live in this room three people. We were going to live my wife, my daughter nine years old and I in a separate room, but I was forced to pay $28 for one bed in the next six-bed room. We traveled to New Zealand for almost a month. New Zealanders have always been very kind and allowed us to live in a room at no extra cost for my daughter. Anyway, it was a beautiful little town with wonderful hot pools and this hostel could not dampen our memories. In the kitchen there was a bit of free ice cream and kiwi fruit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Feedback is always the best way to improve our business. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel as much as all the other reviewers who often have commented that the room you stayed in is fantastic value. I have a feeling this negative review is mainly due to the fact that you were caught out sneaking in your daughter later in the day, after having hidden her in your car, without informing management at either time of booking, nor check in. There are certain legal rules we have to comply with regarding fire safety and maximum numbers of guests that are allowed to stay on our property and sneaking in extra guests, like you did can cause us expensive fines, apart from the fact that it is just rude. If you had advised us at the time of booking there were going to be three of you I would have allocated you a different room, suitable for three guests. The review you are referring to, allowing the stay of three guests is not a review about the room you booked. They stayed in another room, a family room that sleeps 3. The room you booked only sleeps 2 in a twin or double bed. You left me no choice but to book you or your daughter into an additional bed in one of the available dormitories, for which the cost is/was $27, not $28 as according to your review. Regarding the washing machine noise until midnight, all our guests know that we NEVER allow any laundry to be done after 8 pm, because of this noise so your statement that laundry was going on until midnight is simply not true. We are also in the process of removing the laundry facility off site so even the afternoons will be complete noise free too in the near future. When I checked you in that day I also informed you that if there was ANY problem or issue to let us know and that we are available 24/7 to help sort out any issues you may have. Now I read online your stay was not to your satifaction there is unfortunately not so much I can change about that. The size of the hand basins in that room are indeed not big, but due to the lay out of the building it does not allow us to install larger ones. It is great to hear you still enjoyed Hanmer Springs nonetheless. For your next bookings in other accommodation please book for three people and not for two people as it will avoid any further potential embarrassing or legal/safety problems for both your family and the accommodation provider. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Jack in the Green Backpackers
#9 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#3 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Backpackers

Address: 41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £17 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanmer Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Backpackers is the most centrally located hostel in beautiful Hanmer Springs. Our hostel is a small, cozy, friendly and warm Swiss chalet style backpackers providing excellent accommodation and service at low prices. We are the most affordable accommodation provider in Hanmer Springs for the independent traveller. The main attraction in Hanmer Springs are the Thermal Pools, which are located a 3-4 minute walk from our hostel! But there's more, Hanmer Springs is a fabulous place for mountain biking, hiking / tramping, skiing, rafting, bungee jumping, quad biking, golf, fishing, shopping and many more things. Our kitchen is well stocked with all the essential cooking equipment, fridges / freezers, free tea, plunger coffee, instant coffee, hot chocolate, milk for the hot drinks and a complete spice rack. There is a nice outside patio with comfortable garden furniture and a gas BBQ + utensils. The lounge has some comfy sofas, extensive book exchange, board games, guitar and a massage chair to take care of your sore muscles after a day full of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanmer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing