We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HANMER BACKPACKERS”
Review of Hanmer Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanmer Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Sicily, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HANMER BACKPACKERS”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed here for one night in February and wished we had'nt.
Would have been better off staying at a campsite.....as the outside room(5 beds) was not really part of the place and not mentioned at the time of booking. The most appealing thing about this place was their very nice brochure.

Room Tip: Ask for a bed in the main house......not the outside room !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakeupcall_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate and comment on our accommodation and thank you for complimenting us on our very nice brochure (which really just shows the hostel as it is)
Our hostel consists of 2 buildings which are both on the same property with a distance of about 2 meters between them. We have our main building which hosts the common areas, shared bathrooms and kitchen, and we have the smaller 2nd building which hosts our ever popular ensuite room and our family / 5 bed dorm room. Most people like those rooms as they are separated from the common areas and therefore quieter.
All of our rooms are listed on our website and if guests prefer one room over the other they can request so when making a booking.
We were rather disappointed to read your comments, though after reading the (almost abusive) comments you left at other hostels, we guess we haven’t done too bad…
Kind Regards,
Tristan and Yoko (proud owners of the cosiest little backpackers in NZ)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    26
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
37
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Small but very nice backpacker in Hanmer Springs only 5 minutes away from the springs. Friendly host and very familiar atmosphere. The whole hostel is very clean and the free coffee, tea and chocolate powder is a nice extra. Can recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed here for only 1 night in January 2013 and wished I had booked for more. Great place to stay with my 12 year old. No TV but lots of games to play. Room very comfortable and didnt feel crowded even though the hostel was full.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prinny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I can pretty much confirm the sentiments of the last few reviewers. Me and my friends visited this place back in October. The blond male host was really friendly and informative about the area. This backpackers is extremely cozy - on a cold night they light the fire and there's no place you'd rather be in Hanmer. The kitchen is excellent, so if you're into your cooking, this is the perfect place to serve a meal. Don't ask about ice cream - that was the old owner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night whilst travelling around New Zealand and what a find!!

We arrived to be welcomed by the lady owner who was very friendly and interested where we were from etc and allocated us to our room.

Room was nice it was like staying in a French alps chalet the only difference being that hanmer was about 31 degrees that day so hot!!

The location was great 2 minutes walk literally to the main strip and 4 minutes to the thermal pools which are nice by the way, so location is excellent!

It had a lovely homely feel and was spotlessly clean and was a bargain at the price! Owner was very nice and accommodating and had we had more days in NZ we would have stayed on here another night.

If you are on a budget and are looking for cleanliness, friendliness and location alongside value for money then stay here!

Cheers hanmer backpackers! (",)

Mitch

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchandsheyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Hi mysterious Mitch, Thank you for leaving such a nice comment it was a pleasure to have you here in the hostel. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and if you had some time left before you leave the country please pop in to say hi! thanks yoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I can't say enough about this place! We began our 17 day South Island trip at Hanmer Backpackers and it was the perfect beginning to an amazing trip. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, the kitchen has everything you need to create great meals, and the hospitality is second to none. The location of Hanmer Backpackers is just at the end of town, making it the perfect spot for access to restaurants, shops, and town life as well as easy access to many trails and outdoor adventures.
Tristan is one of the best hosts we have met and is very knowledgeable on all local activities, making it easy to plan your days! He was happy to share his knowledge on everything from hiking local waterfall trails to mountain biking the Hanmer Springs area and more. It was such a pleasure to see a host whose love of the backpacking world is obvious in all he does.

Room Tip: The room located outside the main building was a great place with plenty of space to pack our gear f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenzaal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

This very goodlooking backpackers is runned by lovely people! Very friendly and willing to make you feel comfortable! The double room was a bit small, but very cosy! It was a romantic nice room and the price 64 $ was excellent for what we get! The shared facilities where very clean and there was even a massage chair which you can use for free! All together awesome place to stay in very nice city!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GijsRikhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Jack in the Green Backpackers
#9 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#3 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Backpackers

Property: Hanmer Backpackers
Address: 41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanmer Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Backpackers is the most centrally located hostel in beautiful Hanmer Springs. Our hostel is a small, cozy, friendly and warm Swiss chalet style backpackers providing excellent accommodation and service at low prices. We are the most affordable accommodation provider in Hanmer Springs for the independent traveller. The main attraction in Hanmer Springs are the Thermal Pools, which are located a 3-4 minute walk from our hostel! But there's more, Hanmer Springs is a fabulous place for mountain biking, hiking / tramping, skiing, rafting, bungee jumping, quad biking, golf, fishing, shopping and many more things. Our kitchen is well stocked with all the essential cooking equipment, fridges / freezers, free tea, plunger coffee, instant coffee, hot chocolate, milk for the hot drinks and a complete spice rack. There is a nice outside patio with comfortable garden furniture and a gas BBQ + utensils. The lounge has some comfy sofas, extensive book exchange, board games, guitar and a massage chair to take care of your sore muscles after a day full of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanmer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing