We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little extras”
Review of Hanmer Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanmer Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed with two families with kids. The place was just walking distance to the hotpools and town shops etc. They provided tea, coffee (real filter included), and hot chocolate for the kids. Yoko was really nice and she even left nice muffins in the morning in the common dining area telling guests to help themselves. We were out in cabin 5, which has no toilet and bath, but it was fine to walk 20 metres to the main area for that. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for the nice comment. It was pleasure to have you here. When can we welcome you again? yoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had a great stay here for a long weekend. The hostel layout is great and makes it really social. The owners were very welcoming and had great information they could provide you on the local tramps. Its also really close to the town center and hot pools which is a definite plus when the temperature starts to drop! There was even free scones, jam and cream one of the nights we stayed - unfortunately we had eaten too much from dinner to enjoy them. We definitely plan to come back to Hanmer and look forward to staying again (and going on some more tramps)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your stay. Whenever you are heading down this direcrtion please pop in again! yoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed here for one night in February and wished we had'nt.
Would have been better off staying at a campsite.....as the outside room(5 beds) was not really part of the place and not mentioned at the time of booking. The most appealing thing about this place was their very nice brochure.

Room Tip: Ask for a bed in the main house......not the outside room !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakeupcall_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to rate and comment on our accommodation and thank you for complimenting us on our very nice brochure (which really just shows the hostel as it is)
Our hostel consists of 2 buildings which are both on the same property with a distance of about 2 meters between them. We have our main building which hosts the common areas, shared bathrooms and kitchen, and we have the smaller 2nd building which hosts our ever popular ensuite room and our family / 5 bed dorm room. Most people like those rooms as they are separated from the common areas and therefore quieter.
All of our rooms are listed on our website and if guests prefer one room over the other they can request so when making a booking.
We were rather disappointed to read your comments, though after reading the (almost abusive) comments you left at other hostels, we guess we haven’t done too bad…
Kind Regards,
Tristan and Yoko (proud owners of the cosiest little backpackers in NZ)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Small but very nice backpacker in Hanmer Springs only 5 minutes away from the springs. Friendly host and very familiar atmosphere. The whole hostel is very clean and the free coffee, tea and chocolate powder is a nice extra. Can recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed here for only 1 night in January 2013 and wished I had booked for more. Great place to stay with my 12 year old. No TV but lots of games to play. Room very comfortable and didnt feel crowded even though the hostel was full.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I can pretty much confirm the sentiments of the last few reviewers. Me and my friends visited this place back in October. The blond male host was really friendly and informative about the area. This backpackers is extremely cozy - on a cold night they light the fire and there's no place you'd rather be in Hanmer. The kitchen is excellent, so if you're into your cooking, this is the perfect place to serve a meal. Don't ask about ice cream - that was the old owner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night whilst travelling around New Zealand and what a find!!

We arrived to be welcomed by the lady owner who was very friendly and interested where we were from etc and allocated us to our room.

Room was nice it was like staying in a French alps chalet the only difference being that hanmer was about 31 degrees that day so hot!!

The location was great 2 minutes walk literally to the main strip and 4 minutes to the thermal pools which are nice by the way, so location is excellent!

It had a lovely homely feel and was spotlessly clean and was a bargain at the price! Owner was very nice and accommodating and had we had more days in NZ we would have stayed on here another night.

If you are on a budget and are looking for cleanliness, friendliness and location alongside value for money then stay here!

Cheers hanmer backpackers! (",)

Mitch

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchandsheyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Hi mysterious Mitch, Thank you for leaving such a nice comment it was a pleasure to have you here in the hostel. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and if you had some time left before you leave the country please pop in to say hi! thanks yoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Larchwood Motel
Larchwood Motel
#21 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Jack in the Green Backpackers
#9 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#3 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#8 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Backpackers

Address: 41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £33 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanmer Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Backpackers is the most centrally located hostel in beautiful Hanmer Springs. Our hostel is a small, cozy, friendly and warm Swiss chalet style backpackers providing excellent accommodation and service at low prices. We are the most affordable accommodation provider in Hanmer Springs for the independent traveller. The main attraction in Hanmer Springs are the Thermal Pools, which are located a 3-4 minute walk from our hostel! But there's more, Hanmer Springs is a fabulous place for mountain biking, hiking / tramping, skiing, rafting, bungee jumping, quad biking, golf, fishing, shopping and many more things. Our kitchen is well stocked with all the essential cooking equipment, fridges / freezers, free tea, plunger coffee, instant coffee, hot chocolate, milk for the hot drinks and a complete spice rack. There is a nice outside patio with comfortable garden furniture and a gas BBQ + utensils. The lounge has some comfy sofas, extensive book exchange, board games, guitar and a massage chair to take care of your sore muscles after a day full of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hanmer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing