We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So comfy and cosy”
Review of Hanmer Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanmer Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“So comfy and cosy”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Hanmer Backpackers is a lovely hostel in a good location for the baths and the small town in general. The dorm is up in the apex of the house with beds rather than bunks. It feels very homely and rather alpine - like the hay loft of a Swiss chalet. The bathrooms were clean and the kitchen well equipped. I was very comfortable during my stay and would rate this as one of my favourite hostels during my tour of New Zealand.
Local activities I enjoyed the most were the baths and hiking with llamas (so cute).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWestLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
We are happy your stay was nice and comfortable. Thank you for your very nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    26
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
37
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We went to Hanmer for my 60th birthday. When we arrived Tristan wasn't about but had left me a note and put us into the double with ensuite. When we walked in there was a Happy Birthday note with a pile of chocolate beside the bed!! Having tea, coffee and especially milk supplied is really great when only staying a night, rather than being organised and on a trip, and the place is clean, airy, has a nice courtyard area and a very comfortable lounge upstairs. You are near enough to being in the middle of town and it is only a few minutes walk to everything.
By the way if you don't have your own transport make sure that you travel with Hanmer Tours. We were coming up with them and had a muddle with the dates. Edwin refunded the cost of our prepaid vouchers, gave us thermal pool tickets and made a very generous additional donation. I can not speak highly enough of his customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Contention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for choosing our little hostel for your 60th birthday. We are happy we could contribute to your great stay in Hanmer. Edwin was impressed with your promotions as well, many thanks.
We'll see you again for your 61th (or sooner)?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I only stayed here for 1 night at the end of my south island tour, but this was certainly up there with the best and I wish I had more time to stay longer.

I had a beautiful double room on the first floor of the main building. It was bright, well decorated and comfortable. The lounge area also on the first floor is really cosy with an excellent library / book exchange. There is also the added bonus of a wonderful massage chair.

The shared bathroom facilities were spotless and the showers excellent after a days hiking.

The owner wasn't around when I checked in, but made sure he introduced himself later which was a nice touch.

An excellent, well run and cared for hostel in the centre of Hanmer Springs with brilliant staff. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leemwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for the very kind review. Always nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and rate us among the best. Due to your review (among others) we just received the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2013. Time for bubbles, cheers.
Tristan and Yoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Hanmer Backpackers is a cosy little alpine lodge in the heart of Hanmer Springs. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Our dorm room was comfortable. Kitchen facilities are brilliant and very clean. Massage chair goes above and beyond what one expects in a hostel. Free wireless and better showers would be my only desired improvement.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our little hostel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the "chair".
We don't provide free internet though we do provide wifi at a really sharp price ( $2.5 for 100MB or $5 for 500 MB - no time limit).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We are a family of 4 and stayed here recently. Great location as it was an easy walking distance to shops and pools. We stayed in one of the rooms out the back which was perfect for us. It had its own en suite and comfy beds. Plenty of bedding supplied and hot water bottles as well if we had needed them. The hostel is very cosy and was very warm with the pot belly fire going.You really feel like you are in someones house. Plenty of board games upstairs and the massage chair was a hit with the kids. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for the nice comment, so when can we welcome you again?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Tristan and Yoko have done an awesome job here. Their attention to detail is a credit to them. Only backpackers we have been in where they provide milk for your tea and coffe which is also provided.
The place was really clean all the time. The massage chair on the landing was another real bonus and really good.
If you like mountain biking check out the alpine fat bikes for hire at mumbles cafe. They rock.
So full marks cheers for making our stay warm and cosy.

Thanks Ben and Jen.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bungayabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Hi Ben and Jenny,
Thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure having you as our guests.
Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.
Cheers,
Tristan and Yoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seeheim-Jugenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed with two families with kids. The place was just walking distance to the hotpools and town shops etc. They provided tea, coffee (real filter included), and hot chocolate for the kids. Yoko was really nice and she even left nice muffins in the morning in the common dining area telling guests to help themselves. We were out in cabin 5, which has no toilet and bath, but it was fine to walk 20 metres to the main area for that. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for the nice comment. It was pleasure to have you here. When can we welcome you again? yoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Jack in the Green Backpackers
#9 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#3 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Backpackers

Property: Hanmer Backpackers
Address: 41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanmer Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Backpackers is the most centrally located hostel in beautiful Hanmer Springs. Our hostel is a small, cozy, friendly and warm Swiss chalet style backpackers providing excellent accommodation and service at low prices. We are the most affordable accommodation provider in Hanmer Springs for the independent traveller. The main attraction in Hanmer Springs are the Thermal Pools, which are located a 3-4 minute walk from our hostel! But there's more, Hanmer Springs is a fabulous place for mountain biking, hiking / tramping, skiing, rafting, bungee jumping, quad biking, golf, fishing, shopping and many more things. Our kitchen is well stocked with all the essential cooking equipment, fridges / freezers, free tea, plunger coffee, instant coffee, hot chocolate, milk for the hot drinks and a complete spice rack. There is a nice outside patio with comfortable garden furniture and a gas BBQ + utensils. The lounge has some comfy sofas, extensive book exchange, board games, guitar and a massage chair to take care of your sore muscles after a day full of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanmer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing