We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosie's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed in Rosies 2 years ago on the recommendation of Lonely Planet. I had a really pleasant and comfortable stay. I returned again to stay in Rosies recently and was pleasantly surprised by some changes to this B&B. New owners Garry and Rebekah where extremely welcoming, relaxed and also fun. The communal area which has a large LCD TV is really comfortable and an absolute pleasure to spend time in. Some of the rooms have been modernised and beautiful new bathroom suites have been put in. Breakfast was awesome. The welcome we received, the cleanliness of the B&B as well as the proximity of this B&B to Hanmer's main attractions, particularly the hot pools, make this the perfect accommodation. I look forward to returning to Rosies.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    27
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
46
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed two nights at Rosies and wasn't disappointed, our host, made us very welcome with there relaxed and friendly attitude. The room was bright, clean and comfortable and had very good ensuite shower facilities. The breakfast was excellent and more than set us up for the day. We found the B&B to be well located and so it was only a short walk to reach the Thermal pools, walking tracks, etc. We would both consider staying again next time we are in Hanmer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

After having visited Rosie's before, I chose to book again on a weekend trip to Hanmer with my husband, and we were not disappointed. conveniently located only 3 minutes from the main street and pools, Gary and Rebekah welcomed us into their B&B with warm smiles and a super relaxed attitude. After explaining that it was their son's 21st birthday celebration this weekend, we were then invited along to join in, should we wish, with the family gathering. (which we did, and very glad that we accepted and joined in with the local festivities!)

Breakfast was a delicious kiwi take on continental, with the addition of pancakes and caramelised bananas one morning and croissants the next, we didn't need lunch!

We highly recommend going for a walk or bike through the forest that is only minutes from the B&B, so peaceful and relaxing.

also, do not leave Hanmer without trying one of the famous Hanmer Bakery pies...they will not disappoint!

Would definitely return and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Call them directly and speak to Gary instead of booking through an online reservations site, he can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

Our hosts, Rebekah and Garry, welcomed us in this piece of paradise in the thermal village of Hanmer Springs, South New Zealand. Rooms are comfortable. You can make your own tea and coffee. You have access to the lounge to read books from the shelf or watching a huge LCD TV. You may have a chance to share glass of port in the evening with the hosts. The breakfast is a real one with fruit juice, real coffee (not instant), fresh fruit, bread. If you stay several days, R & G will change the breakfast (pancakes, etc...) so that you don't get bored. Rosie's is the best value B&B at 2 min.walk of the Thermal Pools.
Thank you so much R&G, greetings from Belgium S&Ch

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Inviting and cosy guesthouse. Hosts were very friendly and made us feel at home - ive never felt so comfortable!! Great price and beautiful breakfast. Thankyou so much.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A good place to stay with friendly helpful owners, a good spacious lounge with a big TV, comfy lounge suite and lots of reading material. Breakfast was the highlight with everything from cereal and fruit to a selection of cheeses and meats as well as a good choice of yoghurt and fruit juices. Coffee was served in a plunger for one and the toast was made to order. The bedrooms and beds could do with a spruce up. Probably no advantage having bunks at a B and B instead of single beds. Having read the other reports it seems the new owners have intend to make some changes. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blangley16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Was planning on staying one night but ended up staying an extra night. The rooms are nice but the beds old and soggy. Bathrooms are communal for most rooms and very old. However this was offset for our group by the great communal lounge, dining and full kitchen. Most restaurants in Hamner are over rated so we cooked a big feed up, played board games and drank the local wine. Free Laundry. Nice Breakfast. Nice Hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t-mainia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosie's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosie's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rosie's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Cheltenham Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break and get away from the Rat Race for a few days and come put your feet up at Rosie’s.A two storey Swiss style chalet situated in the heart of the Hanmer Springs village. Less than a two minute walk to the famous Thermal Springs. Enjoy all that Hanmer Springs has to offer, a relaxing soak in the hot pools or a sumptuous massage. Enjoy the many walking and biking tracks, a game of golf or a stroll around the village. Dine at one of the many restaurants and cafes that Hanmer has to offer. Choose from one of our many different room options, this also includes a wheelchair suite and a self contained chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rosie's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing