We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosie's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosie's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pender Island, Canada
1 review
“A very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at Rosie,s for 2 nights,on our first visit to Hanmer Springs.The location was perfect, to walk to the Hot Springs, or explore the town, & our room was comfortable & quiet..Great balcony too.
Gary was the perfect host,and having the use of the kitchen, & comfortable lounge made it very welcoming. Good breakfast as well.
We would definitely recommend this B.&B.It was easy to find,& we were able to park our car.
Jackie & Erik B.C Canada

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
43
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Very friendly hosts, great location, and clean room and bathroom. Has kitchen facilities available to guests - and is under taking some renovations (this didn't impact our stay at all). Would recommend for travellers on a budget

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forevakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Pleasant
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Rosie's is a quaint little B & B right in the heart of Hamner Springs, only minutes walk to the hot springs conplex and the township. Gary & Rebekah are very freindly hosts who could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Guest towels are provided for you to use at the springs complex and we able to leave our car there even though we had booked out that morning while we spent the day at the springs. We had a private ensuite chalet behind the main building which was very homely. All in all a very pleasant experience

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DADI2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We tend to use motels rather than B&Bs, but were pleasantly surprised at how good this place was. The freedom to use the lounge and kitchen at any time, and store food in the fridge was very useful as we cooked a meal after a visit to the hot pools. we also used the laundry to catch up on washing. The bedroom was not large but practical and had its own ensuite and an outside balcony overlooking the garden and street. The breakfast was continental and there was enough food available to set us up for the next day's travelling. The croissants were delicious. Garry was very helpful in settling us in and in his knowledge of the area. We would be happy to stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TooKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We read all the glowing reviews and probably had too high expectations. Hamner Springs hotels are quite expensive and this was one of the cheaper ones so one should not expect too much. The room was not particularly attractive, the bed small, no TV in room, bathroom was fine. Breakfast ok but not exceptional, had to ask for butter as there was only margarine on the table and no eggs offered. Very noisy clothes dryer outside still running after 9pm which I had to turn off myself as I could not find the hosts. Also noise from communal TV filtering into our ground floor room.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are probably more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

A swiss chalet comes to mind as you arrive at this delightful B&B. We were welcomed by host Gary, an easy going, friendly guy and Rosie the cutest dog ever. Guest are given free range of the comfortable house. Our bedroom had its own bathroom, but there is also a shared bathroom for some of the other rooms. There is a communal lounge where you can watch films and tv with the other guest. A large kitchen for guests to use to cook meals and make hot drinks in. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. Breakfast is good and Gary is on hand to make sure everyone has hot drinks, toast etc. Some guest liked to sit around the large dining table and chat, whilst others preferred to eat on separate tables. The garden is also open to guest to sit and relax in. Hanmer Springs is a pretty place and the thermal pools a must. Towels are left out for guests to use at the springs. There are plenty of eateries and a few shops all within easy walking distance of Rosies. I would recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Request private bathroom if you do not wish to share. A couple of rooms have a balcony where you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 47Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oatley NSW
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We wished we had stayed longer here. The accommodation is lovely. Thanks to Garry we felt very much at home, we even cooked our dinner and watched TV which after 3 weeks in hotels and restaurants made a lovely change. However there are many places to eat there as well as a couple of pubs. Hanmer Springs is delightful. The main attraction of course is the springs themselves..they are fantastic and we are so happy we took the time to go to this beautiful town.
Rosie is their little dog who is as cute as a button. I highly recommend this accommodation.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marchmont Gardens
Marchmont Gardens
#2 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.5 mi away
8 on Oregon
8 on Oregon
#7 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosie's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosie's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rosie's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Cheltenham Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break and get away from the Rat Race for a few days and come put your feet up at Rosie’s.A two storey Swiss style chalet situated in the heart of the Hanmer Springs village. Less than a two minute walk to the famous Thermal Springs. Enjoy all that Hanmer Springs has to offer, a relaxing soak in the hot pools or a sumptuous massage. Enjoy the many walking and biking tracks, a game of golf or a stroll around the village. Dine at one of the many restaurants and cafes that Hanmer has to offer. Choose from one of our many different room options, this also includes a wheelchair suite and a self contained chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rosie's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing