We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly cheerful , lovely and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosie's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Effervescent owner, friendly afternoon glass of wine. Lovely clean rooms
and great pillows.
Nice and quiet location but just a short walk to Hot Springs and main street eating places.
We stayed in "honeymoon cottage" with own ensuite.
Breakfast basic cereal coffee and toast but plenty to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galah46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2011

An overpriced hostel like the other reviewers say. We stayed here for our second night and were greatly disappointed by the poor beds (probably the worst of our month long trip) the sparse rooms (no TV for $120?!) and the cheapo breakfast - white toast, "jam" that must be 1% fruit and tinned fruits. We paid a painful $120 for a room here when the Cheltenham House next door (literally) was only $60 more (standby) and on another planet for quality rooms, and full proper breakfast. Go there, splurge and have one of the best B&Bs of your life. You made are making a mistake if you go here.

Rosie herself was pleasant and helpful (hence 2 stars) but really Rosie - please spend a little money on your B&B, new beds, better breakfasts and TV's in the room

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry and Rebe... R, Manager at Rosie's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Rosie's. We are the new owners of Rosie's as of 23 January 2012 and have already started to make improvements to our property. Expect to see some additions and changes over the next 6 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Rosies B&B was more like a hostel than a bed and breakfast. For $90, it was overpriced. The rooms were old, the floors creeked and the room was freezing cold. The room had an old wall heater that had a 45min timer on it. We had to get up multiple times during the night to restart the heater as the room was freezing. The bed was quite squishy and my feet hung off the end (Im only 5'8). We both slept terribly. The breakfast was alright, it was continental (which is advertised) with cereal, toast, yogurt and mixed fruit but for a bed and breakfast I have definately had better. We ended up checking out a day early and would not recommend this B&B. It reminded me too much of a hostel at a much higher price. It is in need of an update- new beds and heaters are a must.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kendraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry and Rebe... R, Manager at Rosie's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Rosie's. We are the new owner's as of 23 January 2012 and have already started to make improvements to our property. Expect to see many changes and additions over the next 6 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Wilma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Webca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
754 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
491 reviews
3.6 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#17 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosie's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosie's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Cheltenham Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £71 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break and get away from the Rat Race for a few days and come put your feet up at Rosie’s.A two storey Swiss style chalet situated in the heart of the Hanmer Springs village. Less than a two minute walk to the famous Thermal Springs. Enjoy all that Hanmer Springs has to offer, a relaxing soak in the hot pools or a sumptuous massage. Enjoy the many walking and biking tracks, a game of golf or a stroll around the village. Dine at one of the many restaurants and cafes that Hanmer has to offer. Choose from one of our many different room options, this also includes a wheelchair suite and a self contained chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rosie's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing