We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated it”
Review of Pines Holiday Park

Pines Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanmer Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pines Holiday Park
Amberley, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hated it”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

If i could put a 0 i would. the lady Dianne was extremely rude and unprofessional to this lady before us in the office, and then continued to be extremely rude to us. She very over reactive and has no reasoning with you and does not listen to any side of the story just her own. She screams and shouts and swears at customers which is highly unprofessional and RUDE. i do not recommend anyone to go stay there AT ALL. It was such a bad stay and very unhappy about it she even took 100 dollars out of my account for nothing! We didn't damage a thing so she had no right to take it out will be dealing police about this matter.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne H, Owner at Pines Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review our park. All our clients sign a form stating excess alcohol use is not permitted, and any expenses incurred will be charged for. Seeing we had to call out Hanmer Security sevices five times during your stay the $100 was part payment towards their fee.
You would be most welcome to call in next time you were in Hanmer to discuss your comments further if you wish. Many thanks. Regards Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    27
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
marlborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We did a 2 night stint in a tent at Pines Holiday park.....was fabulous. This privately run park was clean as a whistle and well maintained. Grounds also well kept and was a delight to stay there. Owners were helpful and informative. We'd stay again and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catzlegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We spent five weeks touring the south island of NZ in a camper and stayed for one night at Pine's Holiday park in October 2012. The grounds are beautiful and really well maintained - the powered sites were also spacious and you weren't all piled on top of each other like we experienced in other places! At $36 for one night we found Pine's to be averagely priced but we were a bit disappointed you had to pay extra for showers - this was only 50c but we stayed at other sites that cost less and offered free showers. We also thought BBQ's at $4 was a bit over-the-top! The campsite is close to town though and handy for the hot springs which is the only reason we stopped over in Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This site is very well maintained and conveniently located near the centre of Hanmer Springs.
As others have mentioned, the reception is a little abrupt and technology is not a priority. When we asked if a PC was available, we were told 'a man down the road has a computer!'
Having to pay for the showers is harsh, especially as the machine is unreliable and swallows money!
Also the rugby club is next door and this can get a little noisy in the evening!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed one night with a campervan on a powered site. Well spaced-out plots in large, well-maintained grounds with numerous specimen trees. Within walking distance of Hanmer Springs town with several eateries and shops. Quite expensive and not too good. Also required to pay extra for timed showers. Well-worn machines in laundry room and more expensive than other campsites. Rather disappointed with Hanmer Springs as a whole and will give it a miss in the future. Not all it is cracked-up to be!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderluster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here with family and children just before Xmas and had a lovely time. Really friendly owners made it so easy. The facilities were very clean and nice to use, even had a BBQ area for hire at a cheap rate, great for a big group to get together for dinner.
Would recommend highly to families with kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We liked this holiday park as the spots were big with lots of trees, and it is not far from the main attractions in the village. Showers are 50 cents (which is a bit annoying), but it is near a public park, so I understand the owner's reason for charging for the showers. Small kitchen, but wasn't overly crowded when we were there. Nice quiet place in Hanmer Springs. Overall great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin888899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
56 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Camp...
#11 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pines Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Holiday Park

Property: Pines Holiday Park
Address: 158 Argelins Road | PO Box 193, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Hotel Class:4 star — Pines Holiday Park 4*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing