We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great price and location”
Review of Pines Holiday Park

Pines Holiday Park
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pines Holiday Park
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Camping with power site for caravan here with our family this camp is a great price and fantastic location. Close walk to all the shops and things to do, facilities modern and clean. Huge park and playground right next door for kids of all ages :) lovely friendly host, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiperLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Hanmer Springs was recommended to us as a stop-over and Pines showed on our guide book so we rang ahead. We loved the town and the camp-site was perfect for us, well laid out and walking distance (albeit probably too far to wear swimming costumes!) from the pool complex.

Very friendly greeting and we had a lovely hook-up position and the facilities were well-appointed and clean, and lovely and quiet at night (when we were there!).

Hanmer was a favourite stay during our road trip and the camp site was part of that memory. We would go back again if opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for on night in January with a friend in a cabin. Nice setting in Hamner, you can walk to the hot pools if you like. The cabin was relatively modern and comfortable with carpet, TV, fridge, table and chairs etc. The main grip I have was that you had to pay for the showers - only 50c but it's still rude as this is not advertised on the web site. Really, who wants to pay for showers when they're only holiday - it's not supposed to be a military camp!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-Dog89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My Husband & myself spent a wonderful week in our caravan at The Pines. We have been to many camps & this one is tops in cleanliness & location.
If all camp managers were as helpful as this camp it would be a great camping world.
When we left they were going on a well deserved break down south which I'm sure they would love. Nothing was a problem, all my questions were answered fully & knowledgeable.. best of with a smile.
We will be back.
EWW.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Ourselves and 2 other families stayed at Pines Holiday Park for a week - mid January 2014, the sites are a generous size, the facilities are exceptionally clean and tidy and the park has a wonderful outlook over the domain. Ideal for families, with big park, tennis courts, skate park, playground and all the shops and pools within easy walking distance. The owners are very helpful and friendly and went out of there way to make sure our families were all together.
Great holiday, we will be back!!!

Room Tip: The larger power sites are ideal for a caravan, pup tent and a gazebo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived late evening without a booking and was warmly welcomed. Reasonably priced, The sites are quite large and with easy Access to power and water. Dump station (for Motorhome and caravans) hidden discrete, kitchen facilities adequate but very very clean. Laundry was a problem with only one machine shared for the whole campsite, overall a good campsite. 4 1/2 out of 5 for me

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Lovely clean camp & well maintained facilities with large campsites. Lots of strange rules though, like they CLOSE facilities for cleaning (eg, kitchen closed for cleaning over lunch period!). We also had adult visitors stay in our caravan one night & were overcharged by $2 per person compared with the price listed on our booking confirmation. Office person told me she thought there had been a price increase that week and would discuss it further! I was disappointed to see a sign stating it was owner operated, as I thought an owner would have had more reason to be friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyneth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne H, Owner at Pines Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for review, I thought i had really accommodaed you well. Yes when you arrived, their were 2 extra people in your party. You also wanted to cancel one of your nights stay. With it being on our web and a large sign in the office stating no refunds for early departures it was not a problem for me to refund you, so i am not sure why you think i have an attitude. Yes we had a really big day on Sunday and we did close the kitchen at 12.30 to about 1.15 this is not the norm we do try to finsh the ammennities around noon. There are no silly rules, we just close one room at a time for cleaning due to safety reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.9 mi away
Hanmer Springs Forest Camp
Hanmer Springs Forest Camp
#9 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanmer Springs TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Camp...
#10 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#8 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pines Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Holiday Park

Address: 158 Argelins Road | PO Box 193, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £76 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pines Holiday Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pines Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing