We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it”
Review of Spa Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spa Lodge Motel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Well worth it”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

While this is an older motel it is kept very clean and tidy and the grounds are well maintained it is very handy to the hot pools and the hosts were just great we will definatly return it also has everything you need if you want to do your own cooking and the price was only at the time of our stay 110 nz per night

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi Steve
Thank you for your review, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Regards Judy & Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    32
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here in June for 1 night. The room had everything we needed and was definitely value for money. Location was great, with just a short stroll to the hot pools! Two spare towels were also provided for the hot pools which was very handy.
Judy was welcoming and very friendly - her husband also!
We awoke the following morning to snow, and lots of it. The road we needed to take was closed and Judy was lovely enough to let us have a late check out until we figured out what were were going to do, which we were very appreciative of!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisemichell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future, your comments were much appreciated
Regards Judy & Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Beautiful quiet location off the main road but close to everything. Hosts lovely enough to provide is with extra towels for the hot pools, and keep them the day we checked out, dropping them back off after lunch on our way out of town. We had a 2 bedroom unit, very spacious. Kitchen is well appointed with full 4burner stove and everything we wanted to cook a full meal. Lots of room to spread out an relax, and while on first appearances the rooms might not seem to be particularly outstanding, I fell into luxury when it was bed time, super comfy bed... Best nights sleep ever! electric blankets on the bed and heater in living room/lounge made sure we were plenty warm enough (great selections of blankets for the bed too), and while the heater is on a three hour timer, this was explained to us, and when I went to the toilet an hour or so before getting up I turned it on and the room was warm enough. Snow on the ground was lovely... Everything I hoped our stay would be and more, would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank raezveyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can come back sometime in the future
Regards Judy & Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Judy and her staff are friendly and welcoming. The unit is clean and warm and perfect for me as a solo traveller. Car Parking is secure. There would be lots for kids to do in summer....right now it's all covered in snow! Booked online and everything was ready to go when I got here. Happy customer

Room Tip: I got the top floor on the end and it's quiet and on a nice day sitting and looking at the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your review It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again sometime in the future
regards Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at the Spa Lodge for a couple of nights over Easter this year. We had a family unit with two bedrooms as we had family with us. The unit was ideal for a family group. The little ones had easy access to the playground - trampoline, pool, etc but remained easily within sight of the adults at all times. The Spa Lodge is a very family oriented motel and there were a number of other young children there so our grandchildren had plenty of new friends to play with. It is well appointed, with a fully equipped kitchen which is bonus when travelling with young children. The location is great with the Hot Pools and shopping centre within easy walking distance. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel, your comments were much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our motel and hope to see you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

When you are looking for basic value and not 5 star luxury, this is a good choice. We stayed one night but will return for a longer stay next time (have already booked it). The bed was comfy, the unit was basic, clean, tidy and quiet. Walking distance to the main street, shops, cafes, bars and the Hot Pools (a must visit!). The hosts are most helpful and have a great sense of humor. We are looking forward to our next trip here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for reviewing our motel.
It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you again
Your comments were much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We only stayed the one night and I wish it was longer. We had a family unit and my 2 girls had a wonderful sleep in the large single beds (king singles i think) and my Husband and I loved our big comfy bed (super king?). The unit had every thing you need and was a very clean with heaps of room to spread out. The host was very friendly and helpful. We are already planning a longer trip in the winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meredith i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel, your comments were much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again in winter
Judy & Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Lodge Motel

Property: Spa Lodge Motel
Address: 15 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spa Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa Lodge is an older style motel with spacious, clean units each with kitchenette, separate bathroom and lounge,each unit has own outdoor seating,all set in a lovely garden with spectacular views. We have studio units, one bedroom units and two bedroom family units, all units have sky TV 50+ channels. Children's playground, guest laundry, undercover carparking,outdoor swimming pool (summer only) free wi-fi. Only a short walk to hot spring pools and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Spa Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing