We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spa Lodge Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The St James(Hanmer Springs)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Garden Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scarborough Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalets Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanmer Springs Retreat(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Hanmer Springs)
US$120
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Lake Apartments(Hanmer Springs)
US$198
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Hanmer Springs(Hanmer Springs)
US$155
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
18
40
16
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
40
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationhot poolsnice place to stayswimming poolfriendly and helpful ownersextra towelsbars and restaurantsstayed two nightssmall kitchenone nightper nightthoroughly enjoyed our staywould stay here againeasy walkfree wifion arrivalhot springs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The owner was friendly and the unit very clean but it was overpriced for something so dated: ancient kitchen with a two ring hot plate and just one plug point, old dragon furniture and nylon carpet, mismatched 70s Lino in the poky bathroom, soggy beds. The tiny TV was new though - volume was good though as we could hear the neighbours' one through the wall ...

At half the price it would be fair enough but for $150 a night there are much better options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our motel, sorry you didn't enjoy yourselves. We are working our way through the units updating them, but you will appreciate that this all takes time, in the short time we have been here we have updated several showers and two of the units, also all of the garden area.
regard Judy & Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Right from my initial telephone call to make the booking, I was impressed by the friendly manner of the owner. Although our stay coincided with atrocious weather, our unit was lovely and warm with two heaters supplied. As other guests have commented, our unit was also a little bit dated but adequately furnished, and very clean. The location is perfect for the hot pools - and also far enough from the main road to avoid traffic noise..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Hi Doreen
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime
Regards Judy & Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great close location to the Pools and town. Older motel and slightly dated but super clean and lovely hosts, even offered pool towels. Lovely grounds and great area for kids...has a pool for summer time too. Very warm inside the unit and the beds have electric blankets and gorgeous warm bedding I hate to get out of in the morning. (Winter at the moment). We have a 2 bedroom Unit....super King bed in our room and 2 single beds in the kids room.
We are staying in a Ground floor Family King Unit as I type this....our 3rd night and being on the ground floor has a major downside....the noises from above are extremely annoying...day and night...footsteps, thumps, toilet flushing, draws shutting, front sliding door opening and shutting. The people above us are the 3rd group to stay....so not one group particularly worse than the other. To be woken at 3am by the toilet flushing isn't nice either. Not sure how they can fix the noise issue. If I had of read the reviews on here prior we would have requested a 1st floor room. Ideally we prefer ground floor rooms for ease and do request them. Great place...but I would like a decent night sleep on holiday and hate being woken by the neighbours upstairs thumping before our kids wake us.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs unit if staying in a Family 2 bedroom unit.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-JCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your honest review, we are sorry about the noise issue, we have just put insulation and a false ceiling in the bedrooms in a hope that this would help with the noise issue, unfortunately we are unable to do anything regarding the plumbing.
We are glad that you have enjoyed the rest of your stay and do hope you will come again
regards Judy & Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

While this is an older motel it is kept very clean and tidy and the grounds are well maintained it is very handy to the hot pools and the hosts were just great we will definatly return it also has everything you need if you want to do your own cooking and the price was only at the time of our stay 110 nz per night

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi Steve
Thank you for your review, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Regards Judy & Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here in June for 1 night. The room had everything we needed and was definitely value for money. Location was great, with just a short stroll to the hot pools! Two spare towels were also provided for the hot pools which was very handy.
Judy was welcoming and very friendly - her husband also!
We awoke the following morning to snow, and lots of it. The road we needed to take was closed and Judy was lovely enough to let us have a late check out until we figured out what were were going to do, which we were very appreciative of!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisemichell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy I, Manager at Spa Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future, your comments were much appreciated
Regards Judy & Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews