We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We knew it was clean!”

Hanmer Resort Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanmer Resort Motel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“We knew it was clean!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

5th stop on our roadtrip. went to the i-site as we had been all through our trip and were told to go to the hotel and ask for ourselves! Not really a hardship but a lot less service than we had received at all the other i-sites.
Took some time to get some attention at the reception then the owner came trotting over apologising because she'd given all the staff the day off after the busy period they'd had and was doing all the cleaning herself.
$110 for the night which compared to some other places we'd stayed it was maybe a bit steep in comparrison to the quality of other places we've stayed but you do get a kitchenette. The room was big and clean if a little dated & worn out. Good kitchen facility bathroom was small but sufficient.
Spent the afternoon in the hot pools which of course was the only reason we were there!
$18 which we thought was cheap compared to the $23 we paid in Franz Josef, but they get ya on the locker fee's $2 every 2 hours or your locker just unlocks, which is a bit naughty.
Pools were great as expected.
Cooked a meal in the room as other than restaurants there's not really a fat loy going on in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Basic accommodation but clean and neat. Friendly greeting upon arrival. Location. Huge bonus .. Two minutes walk To springs and township. delightful place to visit would have liked to stay longer but so much more of NZ to see

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We choose this motel from the many available in the area and so glad we did. The service right from the original email was fantastic. Yes the units are slightly older and a little dated but you certainly don't get the size in the newer complexes. A carport out the front sheltered us while unloading after a very friendly and informative check in. We just left our car there and walked to the town and pools. All in all a really good stay and would recommend to families or groups as they have a large variety of rooms. It was also fantastic to have our own outside area with large doors to open up the unit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gahchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A bit disappointed as all a bit dated. Block walls and ceiling textured. Bathroom old fashioned and upgrading this would make it so much more comfortable and pleasurable. This was one of the cheaper motels in the area so I guess it is not bad value as location is superb.

Room Tip: I think the units near road are newer so probably pay to ask if this is the case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Having spent endless internet time looking for family-sized accommodation I came across this motel. I'm so glad I did and what a fantastic find! Our spacious villa was like a home away from home, and it came with its own carport. The hotpools are literally a skip and jump around the corner onto the main street, then straight across the road. The pretty village centre is no more than 100 metres from the motel entrance. There is a good range of facilities within the village, with plenty of fresh food supplies for self-catering at the 4 Square store,as well as being spoilt for choice among Hanmer's dining scene. We opted for the thermal pools at sunset, followed by a relaxing evening indoors ahead of an early start the following morning.

Our biggest regret was only spending the one night at Hanmer Springs Motel. The location is very quiet, and the 2br villa had everything to make our stay enjoyable, including individual gardens and private lawns with each villa. Checkin was super friendly and efficient. The only niggle was having to slam the back-door firmly to close it. But the manager assured us that the problem had been noted and a service-person was booked to fix the lock after we vacated the villa. All in all this has to be one of the best equiped and well planned motels we have stayed in.

Thankyou again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frangipani08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stopped at the " isite" to ask directions to find that it was just 100yds away, just around the corner. Such a convenient location a short stroll to the hot spring pool and lots of restaurants and bars. They were so helpful when we arrived and asked if we were going to the pools and gave us towels to take.

Our room was large light and airy with patio doors and a rear entrance and convenient parking. You could say the decor was a little dated but that would be a bit unkind for such clean and comfy lodgings.

I wouldn't hesitate to to reccommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenmidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spa Lodge Motel
Spa Lodge Motel
#10 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Resort Motel

Property: Hanmer Resort Motel
Address: 7 Cheltenham Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanmer Resort Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hanmer Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing