We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The St James has it all”
Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St James
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The St James has it all”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights - the last couple of nights of our two week trip around the top and east coast of NZ's South Island. The St James is central but quiet. The room was spacious, comfortable, perfectly clean and very modern. Our hosts were friendly and happy to provide restaurant recommendations. Whilst in Hanmer Springs we enjoyed visiting the Mineral Springs complex (a short walk and The St James provides you with a towel in a bag to take along). I wish I'd booked more time to stay and explore more than the couple of walks we took in the nearby forest. A week before our arrival we met a NZ couple from the North Island in Picton who had stayed at The St James just before Christmas. All their positive comments checked out!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
351
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed one night here with our 16 month old daughter in a 1 bedroom apartment. I've stayed in a lot of places around the world and this honestly has to be one of the best.
It was clean, felt new, spacious, well equipped, the spa bath was amazing, the bed was massive (we ended up having our daughter sleep sideways between us, for some of the night, quite comfortably) and had heaps of little details that made you feel the owners really cared about running a great place. The toiletries were gorgeous, they had notes asking you to consider future guests when cooking stinky food and had a dark coloured flanned especially for make up removal. They provided additional towels to take to the hot pools as well.

It was close to the pools and centre of town, which is great because you don't have to worry about trying to park in the busy town centre. It was quite expensive, but totally worth the money.

My only discomfort was the pillow. They have two types on the bed, but also have a pillow menu. By the time I went to bed and found the pillows they provided were far to think and hard for me, the office had closed, so I suggest you try the pillows when you get there to ask for a different one if you find the same.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed overnight and it was absolutely lovely - very central location, close to lovely restaurants and the baths and generous, friendly hosts. Immaculate - everything is very new and spotlessly clean. Good parking. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights and were very pleaseantly surprised. The rooms were very spacious and equipped with everything that you need (full kitchen with utensils, dishwasher, stove top etc) and the bathroom was massive! The room is set out like a studio apratment and very open with lounge room, kitchen and bedroom all together....there was even a balcony to sit outside. Not only were the rooms fantastic, but the hotel complex was exceptional - very clean and modern with free parking, even a laundry that was available to use free of charge.Free wifi is availalbe in your room and they also ahve an extensive DVD list to choose from, if you feel like a night in. The staff were incredibly accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The location to town is perfect, everything is within walking distance. I cannot recommend this place enough, it was such a relaxing place to stay and I couldn't fault anything. Definately book here if you are staying in Hanmer Springs!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We only stayed here for one night but it was really very good. Extremely comfortable. As we were travelling with a baby they were extremely good. Provided us with a Porta cot and also a high chair in the studio room. Extremely clean place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The apartment we stayed was new, very clean and modern. One of the best we have stayed during our holidays in New Zealand. The staff was very helpful. As we arrived late, she offered to close the laundry room later so that we can wash our clothes.
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zippee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Nice motel, perfectly located. Actually the perfect location for the Molesworth Run as the finish line is just across the road, not far from the shower! The room was modern with a nice decor. The room was equipped with kitchenette, including dishwasher, microwave, etc which was very handy to have.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OlivierNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
603 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Property: The St James
Address: 20 Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St James 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Springs newest accommodation. 5 Star rating. The perfect place for couples to relax and recharge. Located in the centre of the village - park the car and stroll to the restaurants, cafes, shops and thermal pools. Self-contained studios and suites with panoramic alpine views, sunny patios/balconies, luxury bathrooms and oh, so comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing