We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail”
Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St James
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
1 review
“Attention to detail”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The room was very well appointed and tastefully furnished, with a very nice kitchenette with all mod cons. It was a very quiet room, despite there being lots of guests staying there. You can walk to the hot pools in under 5 minutes.The staff were extremely helpful and take a pride in their work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee21486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
343
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the Mt Isobel Suite, which was very nice, warm, comfortable, spacious and luxurious. It was very well equipped, much more than your average hotel, and had a few extras that made it a real treat, including a spa bath, gas fireplace, and 2 separate balconies. The location is also excellent, a short 5 min walk to the pools restaurants and shops. A couple of small issues with the way it is run, continental breakfast was over priced, and being asked to pay for a small brochure on local walks just took the shine off an otherwise lovely place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiriarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStJames, Owner at The St James, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review we appreciate your feedback. We purchase the Hanmer Forest Park Walks brochure from the local i-site and on sell them to guests at cost price. The $3.00 charge for the map covers the cost of production and a contribution to maintenance of the track network which is largely carried out by community volunteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A modern hotel in a good quiet location next to a park area. The ground floor units have nice outdoor table and chairs and nice mountain views. This lodging is well equipped with dishwasher and jacuzzi... Very airy and spacious and the furnishings are all new and in beautiful, subtle colors. A very relaxing location with good advice from the front desk.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank before75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here and wish we could have stayed longer. Friendly staff greeted us on arrival and we were wowed by the immaculate presentation of our unit - the cleanliness could not be faulted! Great location right on the edge of the town within easy walking distance to everything. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BringOnTheFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the St James over easter weekend and couldn't fault it! We had an executive spa suite and it was amazing! It was very clean, tastefully decorated and had everything you needed for a luxurious weekend away. The service was amazing and we felt very well taken care of. We would definately stay again :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaylee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend. We were very impressed with everything. Will stay there again and definitely recommend others. Nice and quiet as well at night. Handy to shops, pools and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed overnight in the executive suite on the ground floor which was lovely. The room was clean and tidy and very spacious. It had a full kitchen which would have come in handy if we were staying longer. The bed was lovey and comfy and we had a great nights sleep as the room was very quiet. When we arrived we were given plenty of information about things to do and where to eat around Hamner Springs. The hotel is very central and an easy walk to all restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Property: The St James
Address: 20 Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St James 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Springs newest accommodation. 5 Star rating. The perfect place for couples to relax and recharge. Located in the centre of the village - park the car and stroll to the restaurants, cafes, shops and thermal pools. Self-contained studios and suites with panoramic alpine views, sunny patios/balconies, luxury bathrooms and oh, so comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing