We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St James
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Once again The St James didn't disappoint. Lovely hosts, very accommodating. We enjoyed the view, balcony & gas fire in the St James suite upstairs. Immaculate rooms with tasteful decor. We were able to take our 6 month old this time & worked well with having a separate bedroom to the living area.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank benandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for The St James
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Prompt and friendly responses to email and to any additional requirements needed whilst there. Nothing seemed to be a problem. Room was comfortable and warm during a very cold and wet spell. Very relaxing environment close to town.
Looking for a break away in luxury can recommend The St James.

Room Tip: Would go for the St James Suite next time!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The room was very well appointed, beautifully presented with all the mod cons that one could want. The room was warm and very welcoming. The staff were more than happy to accommodate our requests and were very friendly and personable. Overall our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71Dannielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Superbly appointed apartments. Beautiful soft furnishings and immaculately clean. Wonderful underfloor heating in the bathroom and kitchenette. The St James is positioned within easy walking distance of the town and the thermal pools, shops and eating establishments. Fabulous views from the windows looking over to mountains covered in snow. The apartments have been very thoughtfully designed to service guests' every need. We will recommend to our guests.

Room Tip: The upstairs and downstairs apartments both have lovely balconies and superb views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okiwa_Bay_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The room was very well appointed and tastefully furnished, with a very nice kitchenette with all mod cons. It was a very quiet room, despite there being lots of guests staying there. You can walk to the hot pools in under 5 minutes.The staff were extremely helpful and take a pride in their work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee21486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed one night in the Mt Isobel Suite, which was very nice, warm, comfortable, spacious and luxurious. It was very well equipped, much more than your average hotel, and had a few extras that made it a real treat, including a spa bath, gas fireplace, and 2 separate balconies. The location is also excellent, a short 5 min walk to the pools restaurants and shops. A couple of small issues with the way it is run, continental breakfast was over priced, and being asked to pay for a small brochure on local walks just took the shine off an otherwise lovely place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kiriarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStJames, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your review we appreciate your feedback. We purchase the Hanmer Forest Park Walks brochure from the local i-site and on sell them to guests at cost price. The $3.00 charge for the map covers the cost of production and a contribution to maintenance of the track network which is largely carried out by community volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A modern hotel in a good quiet location next to a park area. The ground floor units have nice outdoor table and chairs and nice mountain views. This lodging is well equipped with dishwasher and jacuzzi... Very airy and spacious and the furnishings are all new and in beautiful, subtle colors. A very relaxing location with good advice from the front desk.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank before75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
135 reviews
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Address: 20 Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £100 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St James 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Springs newest accommodation. 5 Star rating. The perfect place for couples to relax and recharge. Located in the centre of the village - park the car and stroll to the restaurants, cafes, shops and thermal pools. Self-contained studios and suites with panoramic alpine views, sunny patios/balconies, luxury bathrooms and oh, so comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing