We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the BEST”
Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St James
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the BEST”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

A weekend away without the children was going to be relaxing anyway - and the St James in Hanmer was clearly the place to do it!! The view from the balcony was postcard perfect. The room was luxuroius and a great place to spend a rainy afternoon. The room was well appointed - we could have cooked a meal in, but opted to eat out following the advice from the wonderful Rae! A late check out was no problem. The service and welcome provided by Rae and Paul was exceptional - everything was exceptional. Even as we drove away we got a huge wave and a "Thank you for staying". I would recommend this to anyone and everyone. You've just got to check it out!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynesteveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
351
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2010

This hotel has just recently opened, everything is new. The room decor is very tasteful and the fittings, furniture, bathroom etc is all of a high standard. We really enjoyed our stay, the room was a good size with a private balcony. Hotel owner was very friendly, situated really centrally in Hanmer as well. We will definately stay there again, if you pay a bit more you expect a bit more from the suite/hotel and they delivered.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My husband and i took a long weekend away to visit Hanmer Springs and settled on accommodation at the newly opened St James. Understanding that it had only been open a few weeks we were expecting a few hiccups but were pleasantly surprised that not only was the venue itself perfectly presented and the rooms beautifully kitted out but everything that we required was ready and available for the asking.
Every item in the rooms had been carefully thought out to give the sense of a luxury - from the under floor heated tiling and heat pump, to the decandently made up bed with huge soft pillows to the robert harris coffee complete with Zip plunger.
My highlight was waking up to the sound of birdsong from the park that the hotel overlooks, a very relaxing start to the day. Everything was within walking distance also which meant that we didn't need to use our car for dinners, hot springs, mini golf or the hiking we did whilst in hamner.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcherBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

The St James is so new & clean that I didn't want to touch anything for fear of messing it up! It is exceptionally tidy and modern, and I was surprised at how many features you get for your travel dollar.
We stayed in an upstairs unit, which was very large and had a queen bed. The large windows let in lots of sunlight (but with thick curtains, easily able to block it out if required) and the door slid open to step out onto a pleasent balcony with table & chairs.
There are too many features to possibly list: All the usuals like a self-contained kitchen, wardrobe, bedside tables, and desk. But it's the extras that really set it apart... For instance, I've never seen a filtered water tap at any hotel/motel I've stayed in. The LCD television had digital reception on all channels, which also made for the clearest picture of any place I've stayed in. The kitchen had a great modern cooktop and mini-oven, as well as very new appliances like toaster, jug, microwave and fridge. We rarely needed to use the heatpump, but it's also very modern and quiet.
The bathroom, while maybe slightly too small for two people to use at once, is still exceptional. It had heated tiles, and a really warm heated towel-rail. The shower was very large, with a massage-style head and large glass walls. The owners have spared no small detail in any of the fittings, with things like the sink, vanity and even the bowl of facecloths all being top-notch in design.
If I had to pick a flaw, it would really only be a small niggle: Between booking online, checking in and checking out, I had to give my credit-card number three times. This seems like two many instances, when you've already booked online. Maybe in the future the owners can speed up this process.
But in summary, it's an excellent luxury motel and is real value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrydp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We had a fantastic stay at the St James. It had only opened a week before hand. The rooms are beautifully appointed and very modern. We stayed on the top level which had a small balcony and a large balcony looking over the western mountains...a good spot of a glass of wine at night. Location is perfect with only a 3 min walk to the thermal pools and restaurants.
Staff were very helpful.
Excellent value for such a modern motel...the best stay in Hanmer we think. Highly recommend and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStJames, Owner at The St James, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
We really appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we would love to welcome you back to The St James in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
603 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Property: The St James
Address: 20 Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St James 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Springs newest accommodation. 5 Star rating. The perfect place for couples to relax and recharge. Located in the centre of the village - park the car and stroll to the restaurants, cafes, shops and thermal pools. Self-contained studios and suites with panoramic alpine views, sunny patios/balconies, luxury bathrooms and oh, so comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing