We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pub Grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpine Village Inn

Alpine Village Inn
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
236 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Was chosen as close to where we stayed and using the entertainment book got 25% discount. No vegetarian food on the menu but when we asked were shown a separate menu with a large vegetarian selection on it. I chose the leek & potato soup. Mr had the vegetarian burger. The meals were quick & we really enjoyed both, would recommend to anyone wanting a reasonably priced meal at above average standard. Thanks

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    31
    15
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were very disappointed with our experience here tonight! Ordered the roast, understanding we would have to wait 45 mins, which was fine. However, when it came it was not pork as we had ordered, but some horrible schnitzel they claimed was rib eye. We were not told of the change and the meat that came out was inedible. The manager provided apologies, but took no ownership, blaming his staff. A very unsatisfactory experience in regards to food and service!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarynduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced pub grub. Walk away”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Valentine's day lunch stop almost spoiled the weekend. I arrogantly chose it due to its ribs billboard. Misses chose a meal. Which mushrooms couldn't be removed. So she jumpes into the scallops assuming they would be cooked to a standard at $32. But wait 7x Chinese deep fried sloppy scallops. My ribs we good but no salad and pretty stingy now disclosed rugged pub. Walk away! its the place you never want to take anyone bar the boys for a rough stag do you Hope you forget as it will disappoin even the toughened diner

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rb30dett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value meals”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had dinner at this restaurant and found the food to be very good value. Although meals are ordered at the counter the meals were served to our table. The food was of a very good standard and they were certainly man size portions. I had the 300gm rib-eye steak and it was medium rare as requested. Not fine dining but a down to earth kiwi style meal. i would certainly dine there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The 'special of the day' was pan fried Blue Cod with chips and salad. Supberb!! Very helpful waitress and good service. Would recommend and will return as it was great value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grahammenteith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpine Village Inn also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Alpine Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing