We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodbank Park Cottages
Reviewed 24 August 2014

What a delightful cottage, we arrived to a log fire burning and a tasty platter of cheese, crakers, nuts etc, what a treat. The cottage was beautifully appointed, clean and had everthing you need for a perfect stay. The little extras including chocolates, dvd movies made it a stay to remember. We looked out the window and sat on the deck having stunning views of the mountains. As we only stayed one night we can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sharyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent two nights at the cottages and wish it was a lot longer. Next time we will skip the stop in Christchurch and just stay here. We had our 4 month old daughter with us and Mike and Lizzie were extremely helpful even offering to have a port-a-cot setup for us when we arrived. The location is amazing over looking the snow capped mountains only a 5 minute drive to Hanmer Springs. Plenty of things to do and see or just spend the time relaxing in the cottages. They are fully fitted out with everything you need to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Splitvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

These lovely cottages make for the perfect relaxing escape. Mike happily accommodated us at very short notice, and we arrived frazzled from stressful city life and left refreshed and relaxed. You are only a few minutes' drive from the centre of Hanmer Springs village, yet you feel in the middle of nowhere with the absolute peace and quiet, the mountain views, the forest across the paddock and the flock of funny little black sheep running around in front of your cottage. The cottage was spotless and furnished to a very high standard with lovely sheets, towels and toiletries, but it was the little extra touches that made our stay so special. From the bag with towels in it ready for to the hot pools, to the plate of cheese and crackers to go with our evening drink, and the lift in to town and back for dinner - we were looked after to a level far above our expectations and that is what puts this place way above the rest. I only wish we could have stayed longer - we already can't wait to return. Thank you so much, Mike & co!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank globalskier100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Last year my wife and I spent a wonderful 2 week holiday here and vowed to return as soon as we could. Not only did we miss the peaceful ambience and luxury accommodation but we also missed the friendship of our hosts Mike and Lizzy, who did so much to make our holiday unforgettable.
This time we stayed for 3 weeks and loved every day of it. Lettie, the Jack Russell accompanied me on all my morning walks in the fir forests, and lay in front of the log fire when she was exhausted ! While my wife was convalescing after a long illness, I was able to indulge my love of Quad biking on trips through the surrounding rivers and mountains, and playing golf at the nearby 18 hole picturesque course.
There are only 2 cottages, both with their own seclusion and a quite perfect place to unwind with a good book, visit the hot springs, or try out the thrill seeking opportunities( jet boating, bungy jumping or quad biking ) for the more adventurous.
For us,this is our perfect holiday destination and we plan to make "our cottage " an annual pilgrimage across the Tasman.
Thank you Mike and Lizzy, you are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Absolute perfect place out in the nature. We loved the fact that this two cottages are a bit off Hanmer Springs and fully surrounded by forest.
When we arrived we got a bowl with fresh strawberries which were just lovely. We enjoyed sitting outside on the veranda with a glass of wine and watching the peaceful sheep enjoying their afternoon snack.
Even it is a cottage made by wood it is very luxurious inside. The kitchen, bathroom everything was just perfect.
It is definitely one of the best hidden spots to spend 2 - 3 nights in absolute harmony with nature but still with a touch of luxus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralphoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Modern, spotless cottage in a lovely location. Very thoughtful hosts who look after you but are not imposing at all and respect your privacy. Highly recommended. Loved the dog and cat that visited too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was the best place that we stayed during our visit to the South Island. The hosts were very helpful. It is a luxurious little cabin and the photos do not do it justice. I recommend a 2 night stay we wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bugz2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
3.0 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
723 reviews
2.9 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
476 reviews
3.6 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
98 reviews
2.9 mi away
Spa Lodge Motel
Spa Lodge Motel
#8 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
70 reviews
2.9 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbank Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbank Park Cottages

Address: 381 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £112 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodbank Park Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Woodbank Park Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing