We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generous Servings, Tasty Food”
Review of WhatEver!

WhatEver!
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$27
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
172 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Generous Servings, Tasty Food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly cheerful service, good portions for hungry diners, and although this is where you might expect pub food/comfort food the quality of the meals was really very good.

I had the pork belly and it was excellent. Finished with an Afogato which was perfect. The others at our table enjoyed their meals as well and four very satisfied diners left after an enjoyable few hours.

We will return when next in Hanmer Springs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BruceFarquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    131
    27
    18
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had booked in for an early meal. The service was excellent as was the recommended wine. My lamb dish was beautifully cooked as were the steak meals. The next day we went for breakfast, and was pleased to see there were smaller ones available, which were nicely presented.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Just ok!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The staff was pretty helpfull and welcome. Unfortunately the food did not deserve the money for it. We were definitely expecting something more from a 40 dollar dish

Helpful?
Thank Nikolas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, Owner at WhatEver!, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We don't have any $40 dishes....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
201 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Really nice meal. Vension and lamb both cooked perfectly. Service was good. Only small negative was the wine list was a little limited. Highly recommend whatever.

Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had the squid salad - 7 small pieces in a thick coated crumb (probably pkt and not freshly made) - no lemon pepper flavour and a huge bowl and lettuce straight from the pkt with some. Husband had the pasta of the day mushroom and sundried tomato - he didn't finish his meal, very unusual!
Shared a brownie, not the tastiest I've had but a decent size serve.
$80 for that and a wine and beer - Not worth the money at all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Webster538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WhatEver! also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to WhatEver!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing