We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot of FUN!”

Hanmer Springs Attractions
Book In Advance
More Info
US$121.68*
and up
Hanmer Springs Quad Bikes
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: JET Hanmer Spring’s spectacular Waiau Gorge, for an unforgettable experience in a beautiful environment. Manoeuvre with classic jet boat power 30kms along the Waiau River, under the historic bridge and between deep canyon walls. BUNGY from the historic 135 year old Waiau Ferry bridge, for a 35 metre free fall to the river canyon below. Experience the adrenalin high on the way down and pure elation on the bounce back up! RAFT an alpine river and marvel at the twist rock, water holes, pink marble and faultline. In clear water you may see salmon and trout as you float down the Waiau River canyon. Take off on a QUAD BIKE tour - challenge the terrain, river bed creek crossings, mud and Hanmer Springs farmland trails. You can also enjoy Paintball and Clay Bird Shooting in this wonderful natural environment. Groups, team building and conferences are also catered for.With a host of exciting and fun activities, this is an adventure for the whole family to enjoy! Open daily 9.00am to 5.00pm.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
CONCORD
Level Contributor
188 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A lot of FUN!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My family went on the ATV/Quad bike 2 hour tour in August and it was a lot of fun. Thrillseekers is located at the turn into Hanmer Springs and you can't miss it. We were able to see someone bungy jumping before we set off so that was pretty cool. The company provides you with overalls, a jacket and rubber boots so there's no concern that your clothes will get dirty (it was fairly dry when we went but ATV'ing is so much more fun when you get dirty). There was about a ten minute introduction to the bikes along with a little track to get used to them before setting off for about a 90 minute ride. Some beautiful scenery along the way and you really have to concentrate on the driving since it is pretty rocky. Guide was good and as there were only three bikes on the tour, we moved along at a good rate. Stopped for a quick snack about half way through and then headed back. You don't have too many opportunities to stop to take photos but the guide does and a CD with the photos costs $25. It would be nice to have that included but it is what it is. Good guide, good tour and worth the money to take the tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveleasier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrillseekers-Adv, Front Office Manager at Hanmer Springs Attractions, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks for your comment. It's great to hear that your family enjoyed the Quad Biking. Now that you have witnessed a Bungy maybe that is an activity you can do next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    39
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Adrenaline Rush”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We did Jetboat ride and the Quad biking.

Jetboat- AMAZING! Awesome tour guide, heated hand rails, beautiful scenery. good for different ages and demographics!

Quad biking- would never have done this in the past- but glad I did. There is an experienced guide there to help you. There was beautiful scenery! so fun driving through creeks and puddles. Definitely go the the Thermal Springs in Hanmer Springs after to wash off- as you can get a bit dirty!

The team at Thrillseekers were friendly with plenty of local knowledge of the area. It was a mixture of thrill and information on the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank annaliesa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrillseekers-Adv, General Manager at Hanmer Springs Attractions, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your post. We are pleased you had a fantastic time on the Jet and Quads. The Thermal Pools are a great way to warm up after doing some of our activities in the winter.Look forward to seeing you guys next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quite a ride!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We did the jetboat ride at the Thrillseeker's site. Our driver was experienced and knowledgeable and very skilled. It was an unbelievable ride! fun, exhilarating and amazing! We unanimously loved the experience - descending a narrow river at 90 Km/h (55 mph) with a few 360 turns - that was Fun! Highly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeesip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrillseekers-Adv, Front Office Manager at Hanmer Springs Attractions, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
It’s sound like you learnt quite a bit from the Trip! It’s a great pleasure to hear that you had such an amazing experience on the Jet boat. Thank you for your feedback we are grateful you took the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“This place is on my doorstep, I'm from Christchurch and the jetboat trip was amazing!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

These guys know their stuff! Went on the jetboat trip down the scenic Waiau River gorge, amazing views and exciting times. I'm from Christchurch, and with this being so close I should have done it sooner. It was excellent value for money and I fully recommend it to all NZers and tourists.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MuzzaCHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrillseekers-Adv, Front Office Manager at Hanmer Springs Attractions, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your jet boating experience. It’s great to see the locals experiencing the thrills with us. Thanks for your response it is much appreciated and we hope that you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome Experience Quad Bikes and Jet boating”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and i went away to Hanmer for a romantic weekend. I talked him into going Quad and Jet with Thrill seekers totally awesome Thanks to shane for teaching me how to ride the bike so much patience and great trip with scenery. The jet boating is an absoutely must do what a thrill that was i tell you. We will defitnley be back maybe try the bungy jump next time.

Thanks guys for an awesome experience absoutley recommend it to anyone who would love to give it a go we was only their friday last week cheers leanne and allan

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank leanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrillseekers-Adv, Front Office Manager at Hanmer Springs Attractions, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Hi Leanne and Allan. Glad to hear you had an awesome time on the Quads and Jet! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your romantic getaway. Thank you for your response. We will be looking forward to meeting you again when you come back and experience the bungy jump.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanmer Springs Attractions also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hanmer Springs Attractions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing