We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night great - but would skip it for breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs

Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Night great - but would skip it for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had an awesome dinner here followed by a few drinks - it was crowded but service was quick and the food hot, well presented and lots of it. On this basis we went back for breakfast - big mistake. 2 Eggs Benedict - cold plates, cold food. Both eggs rock hard and the crispy bacon had barely seen the inside of a pan before being left to cool and develop a thin layer of grease before being dumped on the plate. Everything on the 2 full english breakfast plates were cold. Spoke to one of the wait staff - same guy who seemed to do everything the previous night - who took all drinks off the bill and apologised profusely. Nice he didnt make excuses just agreed it was unacceptable and apologised. Would go back again for dinner definitely but not for breakfast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoWilkinson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    247
    113
    63
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchuch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Below average”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Below average, steak deal has been great for a while but something has changed lately, veg was always rough but went well with the steak but now even the steak is below average, go back to your old supplier, this meat is below average

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab Food, Fab Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

What a great night we had here. When we arrived it was very busy with large groups. We opted to have a drink at the bar after being told we would have a 30+ minute wait. We were given a table quickly and our food was fantastic. Pork chops were beautifully cooked. Service was attentive and friendly. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olddix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksmiths, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Steak Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

That was the call on Monteiths. I personally loved my warm cider and the atmosphere. True alpine feel with the 2 way fire place and cosy lounges to curl up on while sipping a cider. Loved Monteiths!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KazAmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“To Exspensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Last night we were looking forward to a night out at this restaurant . We had a drink there late in the after noon , The meals looked fantastic so we came back later . We got our meals and I had asked when planning our menu if I could have a main size . Of the seafood entrée and they said yes . I didn't want the bread with it as we had had some as a entrée. The dish came out with half a dozen small sca[lops and half a dozen Spawns and sauce . The dessert was well presented and very tasty .When we went to pay it was 38$ for my main that was really dear .Will not go there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing