We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place for your dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenchilli Thai

Greenchilli Thai
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent place for your dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Location: After walking around, we found the Thai restaurant in a hidden hallway. Very lovely place.

Food: At the beginning we didn't expect the food was authentic but we were wrong. All food we ordered were quite authentic and have a real Thai taste.

Hospitality: the lady owner is very friendly, kind and welcome.

In overall we love this place. We strongly recommend it.

When order, make sure you ask for mild otherwise it will be very hot and spicy :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Xupcua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai food in a such small town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We walked along the street and realised there were a few hidden restaurants off from the sight. We decided to try this Thai Chilli restaurant since we love Thai food.
At first we thought it would not be so good since it's in a small town and do not have enough ingredients to make real Thai food. However, it was a huge surprise for us. THE FOOD WAS SO YUMMY and the staff was really friendly.
Highly recommended to try Tom Yum soup and Yum Beef salad.
I have been reading other feedbacks before posting this comment and I don't know why they place such a bad score for the restaurant. Well, we had a great dinner instead.
P.S: when we was eating, some owners of other establishments around called this restaurant and ordered food for themselves as well. Sounds funny.

Helpful?
1 Thank Theodore T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No meal for us :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We were really looking forward to have a thai meal, unfortunately the restaurant was closed despite advertised opening hours and no notice was visible to tell us why.... What a pity!
It is hard to score in this case but it seems I have to dot something above for my review to be "done" ......

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

One of the best Thai red curries I have ever had. The food was fantastic! The atmosphere, was slightly disappointing, but easily fixed, background music would be much more pleasant than listening to kitchen noises during a meal. Both my partner and i were very impressed with the food, cleanliness and presentation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tastiest Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is some of the tastiest Thai food we've ever had. The curries and rice dishes were so tasty. If we could have eaten more, we would have. The lady taking our orders and bringing our food was very friendly. We would definitely eat there again, and wish that we had eaten here on all our other trips to Hanmer Springs. It was also very reasonably priced. You should note that byo or alcohol is not available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annebbillytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenchilli Thai also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Greenchilli Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing