We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tidy, quiet, clean, comfortable and a very helpful host.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Perth WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tidy, quiet, clean, comfortable and a very helpful host.”
Reviewed 22 March 2011

First time staying at a backpackers and we were very plesantly suprised. Great facilities and very comfortable. Quiet and excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthWAClee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    28
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
31
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Smelly old linens, gross towels, share bathrooms with opposite sex, dirty kitchen rags.
Couldn't wait to leave. Too bad it was my last day in NZ and had to be in this place after a spectacular trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Really really nice place, very clean tidy, staff very friendly, nice and quiet very relaxing.
Would highly reccommend.

Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KellyBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Best backpacker I have been to. Cosy, warm, clean, and warm and friendly staff. Quick to help when we had some problems and immeadately solved. Kitchen is well equipped. It feels like home actually.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel250979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2008

Le Gite has recently ( a year ago) changed owners. Now a young dutch couple is running this lovely place. We stayed in one of the two garden chalets. Definitely a recommendation!
The shared facilities, such as kitchen and the lounge are very good. The lounge is a cosy homely room with sofa's, tv and big dining table. The kitchen is fully equipped and neat.

Location wise le Gite is situated a bit outside the centre of town. A pleasant walk away from the hot springs.

  • Liked — Space, privacy, quality of the room, nice & helfpfull owners
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HansAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Backpackers
Hanmer Backpackers
#6 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#3 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack in the Green Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack in the Green Backpackers

Property: Jack in the Green Backpackers
Address: 3 Devon Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand (Formerly Le Gite)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jack in the Green Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains, set in the alpine village of Hanmer Springs, Jack in the Green Backpackers is a boutique budget travellers accommodation. Jack in the Green is located in a quiet part of Hanmer Springs, on a ten minute walk from the town centre and famous thermal pools. Come and enjoy our spacious comfortable rooms, cosy lounge, lovely garden with sunny verandas and patio with bbq. Relax and take your time to discover beautiful Hanmer Springs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jack in the Green Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing