We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome!:)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack in the Green Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“awesome!:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

we only stayed there for one night, but it was awesome. we really felt like being at home thanks to the fireplace, clean kitchen, free range eggs, nice owner of the place and the sound of the beatles...:)
if you happen to stay in hanmer springs one day thats defenitely the place to go!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manuel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    28
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
30
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for just one night while visiting friends in town but the hostel was so cozy and home-like that we didn't want to leave.
The owner was really nice and everything was spotless. I would completely recommend it for couples or people just looking for a quiet nice place to stay in Hanmer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agc_translations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Le Gite was a perfect place to base myself for a couple of days. The hosts were friendly and obliging. The hostel had a few nice touches that you don't often get at a backpackers. Free tea and coffee, a newspaper each day and discount hot pool passes etc. The place was spotless and, in contrast to the last review, I found it very quiet. The beds were comfy and there was a log-burner to keep the place cosy, heaters in the rooms and good kitchen facilities. No TV was a bonus. Its less than 10 mins walk to the town centre and the location is just fine. A lovely place to stay winter or summer (or any time in between).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

A lovely cosy hostel which is clean, friendly and well kept. It's a bit out of the way from the main town, so it's a bit difficult to pop out for a drink and get groceries but this isn't a big deal. I had a friendly welcome and would definitely return if looking for a quiet retreat in Hanmer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Le Gite was the best value for money family room we could find, at the last minute, in Hanmer. It was perfect! Clean, comfortable, warm. Friendly host and cats. The whole family enjoyed Le Gite and we would love to stay another time for longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. It was just what we needed after being stuck in the snow all day :) Nice and spacious inside our en-suite room and with a reasonable price tag to boot. Amazing home made scones are an extra nice touch in the kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevec776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Le Gite is a well maintained hostel offering good value accommodation a pleasant 10 min walk into town and the hot springs. Rooms are private but the ensuite bathrooms are small and don't ventilate very well. Also, some of the rooms are part of an addition on the original structure of the home, so insulation is a problem in the winter. There's a nice communal kitchen with all the cooking tools you'd need and living space featuring a wonderful fireplace and two lovely cats named Janet and Diego. There's also free tea, coffee and hot chocolate!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheArcherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Backpackers
Hanmer Backpackers
#4 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#3 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack in the Green Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack in the Green Backpackers

Property: Jack in the Green Backpackers
Address: 3 Devon Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand (Formerly Le Gite)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jack in the Green Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains, set in the alpine village of Hanmer Springs, Jack in the Green Backpackers is a boutique budget travellers accommodation. Jack in the Green is located in a quiet part of Hanmer Springs, on a ten minute walk from the town centre and famous thermal pools. Come and enjoy our spacious comfortable rooms, cosy lounge, lovely garden with sunny verandas and patio with bbq. Relax and take your time to discover beautiful Hanmer Springs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Jack in the Green Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing