We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Creaking Floor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Creaking Floor”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is the name it should be called.
The creaking kept us a wake with every footstep the noise ground into our brains.
The floor needs repair urgently.
The kitchen is not sufficient as we could not get near the ONE gas top or ONE electric 2 plate hotplate.
They are situated in a corner and oven was being used to bake a cake with so 8.30pm we managed to cook then could not get to the one table as laptops were being used by people who did not move.
Need tongs in the utility draw it would help.
Clean and tidy however and bed not too bad

Room Tip: Do not get one in the main house and if you do get extreme left at the back away from the creaking f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    28
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
31
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Have never been in a hostel where i felt more like home than le gite. The staff was lovely and great to talk to. Slept like a baby and woke up in the morning with the happiest feeling that i had in ages!!!
Thanks!!!:-) also the fact that you can buy the ticket for the thermal baths cheaper is fantastic, loved the baths.
Would also recommend anyone whos staying there to go for a walk at night, the sky and the stars are just breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina2293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Booked one night here and as soon as we arrived we booked a 2nd night. We had a double ensuite which is in the garden.

The room itself was spacious with a comfortable bed. The heater was useful as it can get chilly here at night. The ensuite was clean with a decent shower.

The communal areas were cosy, warm and super clean. The kitchen was well equipped and again super clean.

It was quiet during our stay, I would imagine it has a nice buzz about the place with more people. Janet & Diego - the resident cats are lovely and friendly.

Arne the guy who owns the place (for 5 months) is great, lots of local info and is slowly turning this great place into an even better place.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: the garden ensuite rooms are worth the extra $12
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debstheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

we only stayed there for one night, but it was awesome. we really felt like being at home thanks to the fireplace, clean kitchen, free range eggs, nice owner of the place and the sound of the beatles...:)
if you happen to stay in hanmer springs one day thats defenitely the place to go!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for just one night while visiting friends in town but the hostel was so cozy and home-like that we didn't want to leave.
The owner was really nice and everything was spotless. I would completely recommend it for couples or people just looking for a quiet nice place to stay in Hanmer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agc_translations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Le Gite was a perfect place to base myself for a couple of days. The hosts were friendly and obliging. The hostel had a few nice touches that you don't often get at a backpackers. Free tea and coffee, a newspaper each day and discount hot pool passes etc. The place was spotless and, in contrast to the last review, I found it very quiet. The beds were comfy and there was a log-burner to keep the place cosy, heaters in the rooms and good kitchen facilities. No TV was a bonus. Its less than 10 mins walk to the town centre and the location is just fine. A lovely place to stay winter or summer (or any time in between).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

A lovely cosy hostel which is clean, friendly and well kept. It's a bit out of the way from the main town, so it's a bit difficult to pop out for a drink and get groceries but this isn't a big deal. I had a friendly welcome and would definitely return if looking for a quiet retreat in Hanmer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Backpackers
Hanmer Backpackers
#6 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#3 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack in the Green Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack in the Green Backpackers

Property: Jack in the Green Backpackers
Address: 3 Devon Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand (Formerly Le Gite)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jack in the Green Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains, set in the alpine village of Hanmer Springs, Jack in the Green Backpackers is a boutique budget travellers accommodation. Jack in the Green is located in a quiet part of Hanmer Springs, on a ten minute walk from the town centre and famous thermal pools. Come and enjoy our spacious comfortable rooms, cosy lounge, lovely garden with sunny verandas and patio with bbq. Relax and take your time to discover beautiful Hanmer Springs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jack in the Green Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing