We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms at Hanmer Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Huge rooms at Hanmer Springs”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Rooms were huge; 2 Queen beds wiith alot of room to move around
Continental breakfast was set up for us in our room as we were leaving early the next morning
Choccies on the bed
Bathroom was very large with soaps etc. for 2 not 1 set to share which was a bonus
Only downside you have to carry your bags up a flight of stairs

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSCBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear MSCBrisbane

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    259
    125
    57
    24
See reviews for
127
399
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

stayed at heritage hotel, best bed ever!!!!, great location,walking distance to everything including the hot springs, if you go to south island NZ make sure you visit hanmer springs,should;ve stayed longer but no time,would be terrific in ski season too,highly reccommend

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emu255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear emu255103

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had a little self contained cottage in the gardens and one of the best meals you'd ever like to try in the restaurant. Very private, spotlessly clean and just a short walk from the Hanmer Springs Hot Pools.....hard to stay elsewhere but look around as some of the private accommodation is very cheap

Room Tip: Spend up if you can but the resort is stunning and well looked after
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyImage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear KeyImage

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs and Hanmer Springs Village. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Heritage Hanmer Springs for our honeymoon and to say we were disappointed is an under-statement. When we arrived and were shown our room, we found the decor and fittings to be rather old and worn out. Fixtures in the bathroom and been broken and just glued back together and everything looked sad and tired. Upon closer inspection, we found dirty hand-prints around the bathroom walls, toothpaste marks all over the mirror, dust bunnies in all the corners and just an overall lack of cleanliness in the room. We decided to stay on as we had booked and paid for 2 nights, and went on to have dinner in their onsite restaurant. The food, and service from our waitress were the only positive things in our entire stay. The food was delicious and portions were generous, and while the restaurant was rather under-staffed, our waitress was just lovely. The following day, after returning to our room we were shocked to discover the extremely poor job the cleaning staff had done of cleaning our room! Dirty towels had been picked up from the floor and just hung back up! No towels, facecloths or hand-towels had been replaced and all the complimentary bathroom products which had been used the previous day, had also not been replaced. No surfaces had been wiped down, including the small bench where we had made our morning coffee, and the bed had been made very poorly. We promptly packed up and demanded a full refund for the 2nd night due to the serious lack of cleanliness in our room. Staff duly noted our complaint and advised the manager would be in touch, and we relocated to another hotel for the remainder of our stay in Hanmer. The only contact we have received following this, was a short note from the manager of the hotel advising they were notified of our complaint and have advised the cleaning staff. The Heritage Hanmer Springs has done nothing further to reverse the very poor impression left after our stay and needless to say, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Gemma D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to hear about the standard of Housekeeping you experienced during your stay which is certainly not consistant with the standard we strive to achieve and maintain. I had been made aware of your feedback from my team however, was not aware of the full details of our shortfalls and therefore apologise for my poor follow up.

I have as indicated in my letter communicated these shortfalls to my team but will also be in touch with you in person to discuss the matter further. Once again my sincere apologies.

Kind regards

Tony Howlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

had a excellent stay at the Heritage hanmer. we stayed in a villa just away from the main hotel. very cosy with the log fire. a very short stroll from the pools and spa. we had breckfast in the main hotel, lovey dinnig room and bar.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaid1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 4 January 2015
Dear mermaid1972

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed one night - opening ceremony night of RWC 2011 - passing through on our way to the west coast. A last minute booking made earlier that day. The staff were wearing All Blacks shirts, a nice, informal touch. The manager helped us take our cases upstairs as there was no lift, he was very pleasant and friendly, just what we needed to see after a long drive, as was the spacious, comfortable room. Nice view over the garden to the rear and the mountains.

As we had arrived fairly late in the evening, just in time for the opening ceremony of the Rugby World Cup, we settled in and ordered room service. This arrived in good time and the food was excellent, piping hot too - thoroughly recommend the lamb!

Hanmer itself is a fairly small place, but as we were just passing through we didn't really have much chance to look around. Although we did use the free internet in the library - very helpful, friendly librarian, and for those with laptops there is free wifi at the library too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 4 January 2015
Dear AngelaB2008

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife and I had not visited Hanmer for some time, and as we were celebrating birthdays we chose the Heritage hotel rather than stay at a motel. We were most impressed with the friendly welcome and the service given by the two women staff members at reception, one of whom was just starting at the hotel.

We chose a superior room, and were given room 240 at the end of a first floor wing, which afforded a great, almost panoramic view of the hotel's front lawn and gardens; the main street shops and cafe; Conical Hill and the mountains beyond. Although compact, the room with its modern en-suite facilities was clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished. It was well set up with everything one would expect in a hotel of this calibre.

The hotel was quiet, after the previous day's activities centred on the Wallabies Rugby World Cup team's stay here. Happy hour was therefore not well patronised (it was, after all, a week day), but the service given by the young Indian staff member was friendly and professional.

We decided to dine out in town that night. Unfortunately, our first choice, the Powerhouse Cafe, was not open for dining so we chose Jollie Jacks Cafe and Bar. Service was friendly; the wait a little long; the food tasty, but my wife's chicken roulade and my pork dish were a little overcooked. We did not try the Malabar restaurant with its appealing decor and varied menu because it was a tad pricey.

Breakfast, the next morning in the hotel's elegant dining room, was outstanding, as was the service.We opted for the full breakfast with its varied selection of fruit dishes, cereals, and drinks to choose from. We were then asked to select from a varied menu what we wanted to be cooked for us. With such a wide choice, gluttony became the order of the day. The food was piping hot, tasty, well presented and certainly value for money.

Reading some of the previous reviews, we were surprised at their tenor. The Heritage is an older style (hence historic) establishment, therefore one cannot expect 'hip' or 'techno-modernity'. It seems in part to need a little updating (lobby and hallways), but it is very comfortable and charming. The grounds and gardens, with plenty of outdoor seating and tables, are lovely.

We found the service throughout to be friendly, yet professional.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senior McK.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 4 January 2015
Dear Senior McK.

Thanks for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Property: Heritage Hanmer Springs
Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing