We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious grounds and good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My Family and friends stayed here Labour Weekend 2011.It was my Daughters 18th on the Friday we arrived.Booked a chalet which is a 3 minute walk from main hotel and this was clean and tidy with firewood ready for a cosy fire.Because of the numbers of our party also had 2 rooms in the main hotel complex these were also very acceptable.The Chalet could accommodate 6-7.
We ate at Hectors for a breakfast on Sat morning and was again very pleasant.The whole stay in Hanmer was great and was very busy partly the long weekend and people from Christchurch having a break from earthquake aftershocks. Very nice 'vibe' in the town. We'll be going back when there's snow!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boardboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Dear Boardboy23

Thanks for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

The building is beautiful, staff friendly and polite. Room was tastefully decorated, bed very comfy and the room was a good size. Bathroom was huge but lacked anywhere to put anything.

Room Tip: You might like to ask for a downstairs room ifas there are stairs. However never fear, if you have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne3825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Dear Suzanne3825

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at a garden queen bed room for 2 nights. The room was big and lovely and the service was excellent. The reception staff who checked us into our room even ran across the hotel to turn on our garden lights and heater before we got to the room! He even suggested that we may like to swap to a room inside the hotel because it was going to rain for the next 2 days. The garden rooms are across the grounds of the hotel but the hotel had plenty of large umbrellas for guest use.

The grounds of the hotel is beautiful. We paid NZ$137 per night which I think was reasonable.
I really liked the old world glamour of the hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zigletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Dear Zigletta

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Heritage to celebrate our wedding anniversary, he had proposed there 2 years prior so thought it would be a nice treat. The front desk clerk was rude and blunt, not a great start. We had an Entertainment Book voucher which entitled us to a half price room (although it was still $140 per night). We found our way to our room, what a disappointment. It was very small, and stuffy with one small window that only opened an inch. Very basic and in dire need of some updating. Overall, a very disappointing experience. Overpriced and over rated, I would fair imagine they get most of their business purely because of the name. Having done some homework, I am aware of what is out there now and you can get alot nicer, newer rooms at other motels for a lot less. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Lillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear 2Lillies,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear about the greeting you received on arrival and apologise sincerely. If you are aware of the reception clerks name, it would be most appreciated if you could drop me a line with it on the below email address to enable me to follow up with them.

I also apologise for your room failing to meet with your expectation, whilst all of our rooms vary slightly in shape and size we do have an extensive refurbishment program in place and have in the last two years repainted and replaced; carpet, curtains, TV's and lighting. The refurbishment program is ongoing and I am sure the continued improvements will assist in providing our guests with a pleasant experience.

I hope you enjoyed the other aspects of your Wedding Anniversary in Hanmer Springs and we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.


Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager
tonyh@heritagehotels.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I was very excited to try out the Heratige Hotel as it had always looked like the place to stay in Hanmer. The gardens were beautiful and the grash lush, however the pool and spa were shut despite it being a stunning day in early April. All the more reason to go to the hot pools I guess. Our room was surprisingly small and dark. There was no heat pump and rather a wall heater. The bathroom had an old school open shower with a granny seat whereas for the price we paid we could have booked a spa bath room in a self contained unit down the road. There was a large amount of mould in the bathroom on the ceiling which surprised me.

A fantastic location and beautiful gardens however I won't be rushing back. Instead I'll be sticking to the self contained apartments which Hanmer offers...... with more space, self contained kitchens and modern bathooms!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louie255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Louie255118,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our gardens and grounds, our swimming pool is actually unheated and only operational during the summer months. Although we have had some lovely warm days recently we have also had some very cool days and the temperature of the pool is around 13 degrees which would not provide a pleasant experience.

I apologise sincerely about the presence of mould on your bathroom ceiling and I have arranged for my housekeeping team to ensure that this is removed immediately.

With regard to the room facilities we do have a range of different room types available, some of which include Kitchen facilities and heat pumps, however our rooms within our main lodge building have no kitchen facilities and it would be extremely challenging to install heat pumps due to the nature of the building and the fact that we are a category two historic building.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Heritage at Hanmer Springs is a renovated and modernized 1930's resort in avery good location in the centre of town with good walking access to shops, restaurants and the springs. The upgrading has been really well done and provides all the facilities and comforts expected these days with the notable exception of an elevator to provide access to the upper level rooms. That aside it ticks all boxes!!

We stayed two nights in an upper level hotel room which was comfortable, reasonably roomy and well equipped with just great views. We used the restaurant only for breakfast but found that to be all we would want with eggs benedict particularly well cooked. The staff wee friendly and helpfully and I would definitely stay again if ever I return to Hanmer Springs.

Room Tip: If you cannot handle stairs look for a ground floor room as there is no elevator to the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Dear paulhamilton

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed here with a group of 5 family members in one of the three bedroom villas. Would recommend to anyone looking to get away from it all. The kitchen, dining and lounge areas were all larger than expected and the bedrooms including the upstairs loft were nice. Nice location and the views of the little lake and mountains were beautiful and the ducks were friendly and entertaining. Found the staff very helpful when we dealt with them and the villa was very clean and modern.

Would love to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Dear Miranda H

Thanks for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs.

We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £81 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing