We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Place to Relax”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We have just returned home from a great break at the heritage. The rooms were clean well presented and filled with heating options to make our room cosy and warm. The mountain views were fantastic and the tennis court provided a few laughs. Would definately visit and stay again!!!

Room Tip: Garden rom was lovely and away from the hustle of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark698_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear Mark698_12

Thanks for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    261
    125
    57
    24
See reviews for
127
402
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Whether you're visiting New Zealand and looking for the best bits, or like us, residents who want a great getaway, Hanmer Springs should be on your list. With it's fresh alpine air, spectacular views, skiing/snowboarding, fishing, mountain biking, jetboating, hiking and bungy jumping, spa's and hot pools, there's plenty to do here!

We stayed two nights at the Heritage Hotel. The Heritage has the advantage of being the only proper hotel in the centre of town, so location, location LOCATION. We had a delux room, but were initially disappointed that the room had no bath after reading on the website that all delux rooms had baths.

Reception were apologetic and quickly had us in a delux room with a bath. The decor of the room, much like the rest of ther hotel, was fresh and not dated, matching the age of the hotel.

The bed was large but a little hard for my liking. The room was quite clean, with just a few areas like the top of the tall bathroom mirror needing more regular cleaning.

The hair dryer was a little grotty - old and discoloured, but in it's defence, it did work. The shower/bath both worked well and had newish fittings. We did find that after one big bath the water tended to go cold. The bathroom had an added advantage of a towel heater.

The only couch in the room was also fold out bed, and was not very comfortable to sit on.

The room provided tea and coffee facilities, and I'm pleased to say not with small teacups, but decent sized mugs. Unfortunately there is no tray or mat for preparing drinks or snacks, and this probably explains the state of the once varnished shelf that the electric jug sits on. There were small milks available free in the fridge.

Another slightly off-putting feature of the upstair room we had (215), was that at 6:30 every morning, some sort of heating machine, generator or air-conditoner started up, and woke me each time, although my wife didn't wake.

All staff at the hotel were professional and friendly. Although not anything like a 5 star hotel, The Heritage would come between a 3 and a 4 Star, with reasonable rates.

It's main advantage is it's location - walk to the hot pools, walk to the spas, walk to the shops and restaurants - everything is close at hand.

Yes, I would be happy to stay here again.

The hotel's reastaurant Isobel's is very good, and medium priced.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, prehaps a downstairs room might be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nadar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear Nadar7

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in the 'garden units' which is set back from the main hotel itself, but just a short walk. We were told that free 30 min wifi was only available in the hotel lobby, however, we found it was also available in our units. One advantage of the garden units, is that by being seat apart from the hotel, there is never a concern of being kept awake by noisy patrons or say a live band.
We were part of a large group for a weekend seminar. The facilities they offered were excellent and meals also excellent. Breakfast may not suit European travelers as I did not see the croissants, cheese and ham, however I am certain that if required, they would produce it.
The building has a distinct Spanish or Italian flavor to it.

Bed was very comfortable, good shower, however personally I preferr a seperate shower to having shower over bath type.

Room Tip: Garden suites have adjoining doors so ideal for a small group of family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coaster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear coaster2

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Nice place in the centre of the quiet town, very close to plenty of eating places and just up the road from the spa. Modern touches but enough old-world charm to keep us happy. Large room with all we needed. Tip: try the date scones from the bakery just across the road - huge and excellent! By the way we totally agree with the reference to the hotel in "The Shining" by another reviewer - we said exactly the same!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear EastSussexToad

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed queens birthday wknd. We had a room out in the gardens, warm & cosy and a great view out the window. Room service was great and the restaurant excellent. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jduknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear jduknz

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

As nutty as it sound the Heritage reminded us SO much of the hotel in the Kubrick film, ‘The Shining’.It's old, it’s in an Alpine town, it's kind of grand (but should be grander!) and the upstairs hallways have crazy carpet . It’s the kind of place that has so many hotel miles under its belt that wandering around after dark has an eerie yet really cool if these walls could talk kind of thing going on.

The owners of this hotel should really play to these strengths but they really haven’t and it is a crying shame. The main hotel rooms have been refurbished in recent years and really are quite comfy. Not grand, but comfy. The foyer area and public dining areas are a real let down. A vague cheap refurbishment at some point but this whole building is screaming for someone to lavish it with the decadence that it must have exuded at some point. Drop some chandeliers in the foyer, ditch the nasty 60s staircase and turn the old sitting areas that are now dull generic meeting rooms into the grand rooms to which the insitu fireplaces would imply was their original intent. This property has 5 star potential screaming from every cornice but it just isn’t realised in its current guise. Officially rated as a 4.5 star property I’d be hard pushed to see it as more than a 4.

The ground are extensive and very well maintained. They scream grandness. If only the inside would catch up. In addition to the extensive grounds the hotel boasts a tennis court, pool and petanaque area. Yes. Petaneque. I’d never heard of it but was a bit miffed that a suppoosed 4.5 star property could have a feature this unique (and unwarranted!) but still manage to not have a fitness centre for guests. 4.5 stars people and not even an exercise bike in cooee. Yes. It is a BIG gap that they need to fill.

The pool is great but basically redundant. NZ is cold. They say they have a summer but they don’t. Even when it warms up (got to 26 degrees when we were in town and that was supposedly an anomaly) the old concrete pool is a total ice cube. They have one of NZ’s best geothermal bathing facilities (Hanmer Springs) across the road. To not geothermally heat their pool is really a bit slack. A hot tub would be a FANTASTIC addition for the snow laden months. Whoever hands out the star ratings in NZ must have overlooked a few things!

Beyond the missed potential it is still the best located accommodation in this charming alpine town.They also offer an assortment of modern, self contained accommodation. Can’t directly comment on these but they did look a-ok.

A welcome for guests – free wifi (with a limit) per day. Bravo!.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Drew1976
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are actually planning a major upgrade of our reception and lobby area in August which will provide a feeling of grandness as you mention, in addition to which we also have plans for some of our other public areas.

With regard to the swimming unfortunately it is not possible to geothermaly heat the water; the Thermal Pools complex has the only access to a very isolated supply of thermal water which is provided via a bore. Hanmer Springs does not have an abundant supply of thermal water like Rotorua and it is unfortunately not possible to utilise the water outside of the Thermal Pools and Spa complex. We do however generally have a very hot and dry Summer in Hanmer Springs reaching temperatures in excess of 30 degrees for a number of weeks. At this time the pool is enjoyed very much by our guests.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our grounds and have taken note of your feedback regarding a gym facility.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

We got a free upgrade by "liking" the hotel on Facebook - and one main meal free in the restaurant when we bought another main.
Happy Hour is 5-6 pm, with half price drinks by the open fire. Make sure you ask about the free canapes because they don't offer them unless you ask. Restaurant food "ok" but nothing to rave about.
Our king-size mattress was (perhaps) getting old, and very soft, causing sore back and shoulders.
Room was clean with good views, and service generally friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collardsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear collardsx2

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We installed brand new beds in all our Lodge rooms this month and the feedback has been excellent.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Property: Heritage Hanmer Springs
Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing