We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This hotel is a beautiful part of the world . We had a corner deluxe room, very spacious but only a double bed. And pine side tables, coffee and reading table clashed with the character of the room ie large wing back arm chairs. Some of the curtains in the room were very dirty. For the fees charged room should have been exquisite . Bathroom excellent.

Restaurant had lovely atmosphere with quality food. Meat was not cooked as requested. wifi only available in lobby. No lift due to heritage rules, so travel light.

Unfortunately this should be a great facility, but missed the mark. We were quite disappointed.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2014

Dear Chris M

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We appreciate your feedback about the decor in the rooms. Just this month we installed new beds in all our Lodge rooms and the feedback has been excellent. We will be looking replace the furniture in our Lodge rooms in winter 2015. This is an ongoing process and we will need to delay the project until the end of high season because we will be quite busy.

Wifi is now available throughout the property and we are considering offering 500GB of free Wifi to all our guests. We will make a final decision on this early in 2015.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed a night in one of the 3 bedroom villas with friends. We haven't stayed with Heritage Hotels before and I'm not sure what I exactly expected but we were very pleasantly surprised. The villas are set in a beautiful garden area with a central pond. The views up to the hills and Hanmer residential properties is lovely. The villas are spacious, reasonably modern and very clean. Our only issue was the squeaky floors from the upstairs room but not really much of an issue. The reception staff were very friendly and checking in and out was a smooth process. I'm pretty sure we will book here again next time we go to Hanmer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2014

Dear Luka01

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Awesome hotel, staff were great , rooms excellent, the only drawback was the in house computer... which wasn't working - just a thought not only for the Heritage but all Hotels - you should keep up regular mainetenance on their systems.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezza361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2014

Dear Kezza361

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Being residents of christchurch, Hanmer is within normal daytrip range so we havent had the need to stay normally, just visit. We did have an anniversary occasion to meet up with friends so chose the Heritage as the venue to do that. It was an excellent choice.The rooms were spacious, well equipt, tastefully decorated, and spotlessly clean.

There is much to do in the area, especially for those who enjoy the many outdoor activities available. A very good stay, happy to recomend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2014

Dear David L

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

After a long bus ride from Mt Cook what a great stop! Huge modern room with a fireplace and a couch, king bed and a view. The bathroom is huge, a double shower with extra spa nozzles and a bidet. Also had a nice dinner. Unfortunately only one night here, but it is wonderful. WOW

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Vikor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2014

Dear Vikor

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Heritage....so good we extended our stay an extra night. The Hotel is in the best location - we could walk to everything. The accommodation was a great size for our family of six. Clean, comfortable and definately a place where I would like to spend more time. We had a lovely fireplace which added to the ambience. It would be 5 star if we had wifi access. However, we were given 30 minutes per day in the lobby. We will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2014

Dear Tanya D

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Wifi is now available throughout the property and we will make a final decision on free Wifi for all guests early in 2015.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

As expected the Heritage Hotel at Hanmer Springs was up to a high standard, good size rooms, clean, quiet and good service. While the rooms look like they have been recently refitted (and up to a high standard) personally I just wish they went with a more modern look then the big arm chairs and old school fabrics....oh and provide wifi. Overall a nice comfortable place to stay that is very central to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZer_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear NZer_on_tour,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay. I have noted your comments and you may be interested to know that we are currently working towards a solution to increase the Wireless internet service we provide in the public area's to cover the entire complex.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £85 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing