We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable rooms, pleasant environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“comfortable rooms, pleasant environment”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in November 2012. I had a lovely little room/cabin in the gardens set back on the grounds. Rooms nicely appointed with good space to move and clean and tidy bathroom with lovely toiletries to use. Bath as well as shower
Setting is peaceful and grounds have tennis court and pool. Restaurant was good and very nice breakfast available. Many other eateries in easy walking distance.
Hot pools are also very easy walk away so over all its a great location. Service good, rooms are a high standard. My only suggestion to the hotel is that the foyer really lets it down. The entrance and drive up are lovely but the foyer itself seems really stark and lacking any real 'welcoming feel' to it. Lets the whole place down as it really is the first impression once you are in the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerNZfromCHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear travellerNZfrom CHCH

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    253
    124
    57
    23
See reviews for
124
384
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a beautiful part of the world . We had a corner deluxe room, very spacious but only a double bed. And pine side tables, coffee and reading table clashed with the character of the room ie large wing back arm chairs. Some of the curtains in the room were very dirty. For the fees charged room should have been exquisite . Bathroom excellent.

Restaurant had lovely atmosphere with quality food. Meat was not cooked as requested. wifi only available in lobby. No lift due to heritage rules, so travel light.

Unfortunately this should be a great facility, but missed the mark. We were quite disappointed.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear Chris M

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We appreciate your feedback about the decor in the rooms. Just this month we installed new beds in all our Lodge rooms and the feedback has been excellent. We will be looking replace the furniture in our Lodge rooms in winter 2015. This is an ongoing process and we will need to delay the project until the end of high season because we will be quite busy.

Wifi is now available throughout the property and we are considering offering 500GB of free Wifi to all our guests. We will make a final decision on this early in 2015.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed a night in one of the 3 bedroom villas with friends. We haven't stayed with Heritage Hotels before and I'm not sure what I exactly expected but we were very pleasantly surprised. The villas are set in a beautiful garden area with a central pond. The views up to the hills and Hanmer residential properties is lovely. The villas are spacious, reasonably modern and very clean. Our only issue was the squeaky floors from the upstairs room but not really much of an issue. The reception staff were very friendly and checking in and out was a smooth process. I'm pretty sure we will book here again next time we go to Hanmer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear Luka01

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Awesome hotel, staff were great , rooms excellent, the only drawback was the in house computer... which wasn't working - just a thought not only for the Heritage but all Hotels - you should keep up regular mainetenance on their systems.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezza361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear Kezza361

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Being residents of christchurch, Hanmer is within normal daytrip range so we havent had the need to stay normally, just visit. We did have an anniversary occasion to meet up with friends so chose the Heritage as the venue to do that. It was an excellent choice.The rooms were spacious, well equipt, tastefully decorated, and spotlessly clean.

There is much to do in the area, especially for those who enjoy the many outdoor activities available. A very good stay, happy to recomend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear David L

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

After a long bus ride from Mt Cook what a great stop! Huge modern room with a fireplace and a couch, king bed and a view. The bathroom is huge, a double shower with extra spa nozzles and a bidet. Also had a nice dinner. Unfortunately only one night here, but it is wonderful. WOW

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vikor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear Vikor

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Heritage....so good we extended our stay an extra night. The Hotel is in the best location - we could walk to everything. The accommodation was a great size for our family of six. Clean, comfortable and definately a place where I would like to spend more time. We had a lovely fireplace which added to the ambience. It would be 5 star if we had wifi access. However, we were given 30 minutes per day in the lobby. We will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Dear Tanya D

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Wifi is now available throughout the property and we will make a final decision on free Wifi for all guests early in 2015.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Property: Heritage Hanmer Springs
Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing