We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for one night, it was in a good location, and the gardens were nice but I was expecting more, particularly seeing it was rather expensive. The rooms seemed more outdated than heritage. It was comfortable and clean but I was expecting more character.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you found our accommodation rather expensive. The rates are competitive and benchmarked against other accomodation providers in Hanmer.
We also have the added advantage of a swimming pool and tennis court which does add value to our offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at the Heritage for a conference and was very very disappointed to fine blood in my bed. I did tell the receptionist of the fact and was assured that it would be addressed. After a 2 week period I heard nothing so I phoned again. I spoke with the new manager and he said he would get back to me before the end of the week. He didn't clarify the week so I'm still waiting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

We are unsure if this review applies to out hotel as it mentions a new male manager.
We do not have a male manager and we do not have a new manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in a deluxe room and was not disappointed. Room was clean and tidy and spacious, really comfy king size bed, 2 seater couch, mini bar area.. Good heating too. We had the Buffett breakfast which had good selection, couldn't fault anything. Really like the ambience of this hotel as it has that history feel too it. Hotel is just across the road from the hot springs. Stayed in room 215.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank samiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

thank you for your very positive review. We appreciate you took time to write it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Four travellers - felt like our own bach....we had a villa with a view to the mountains, a woodburning stove and a back deck walking out to a wee lake. Baby ducks to greet us in the mornings. We had everything we needed in the Villa EXCEPT WiFi. Had to go to the lobby to access internet and that was only 30 mins free. Time for hotel chains to realise that WiFi is something everyone in a party now expects - adults, children and grannies !!! Had to go to cafes/bars to get work/comms done. Even with that inconvenience we chose to stay another night. The accommodations suited us so well and hotel staff that we dealt with were pleasant and helpful. We would return !

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

thank you for taking time to give us good feedback on your recent stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in a three bedroom villa. Log fire, with plenty of logs, was great for a snowy night. unfortunately the villa had not been preheated and the heat pump and fire full bore took three hours to get a comfortable temperature. In the morning the mezzanine was warm but the rest of the villa was only just warm enough.

Views over the pond and up the hill were lovely. Kitchen and other facilities all very clean and adequate but not particularly luxurious. (The pillows are the hardest I've ever experienced in a hotel and I'm not particularly fussy) Internal access garage was really useful.

The location is great for walks, pools and restaurants. In summer the pool and tennis court look as though it would offer a very pleasant stay.

Staff were excellent and follow up great.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank curioustraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear curioustraveller42

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

We now have a new General Manager at the hotel and our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Thank you.

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Get a deal on wotif or whatever and it is a great place to stay - there are units at the back for families and they are great if that is your situation - we stayed in the the old building and it was great value - clean, in the middle of the town, good restaurant, bar with fire , great breakfast and nice people. The big no no is the wifi - half an hour free - excuse me?????? in this day and age????? make if all free and make it work. I had huge issues with it cutting out as I was sending something important - Hanmer is in the sticks but that doesnt mean technologically in the sticks!!!

Room Tip: Decide what sort of accommodation you need as there are different sorts for different needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeanutWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Peanut Wellington

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

We now have a new General Manager at the hotel and our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Thank you.

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in the garden room, found it quite basic and dated. Rates were quite high for what you get. Pool and spa were closed during spring which was a shame. Great location with beautiful grounds.
We booked two rooms however we were not given cabins together so we were connected to another couples room.
Event was on until early hours of the morning in hotel lobby with loud music so it was quite hard to sleep.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank danlAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear danlAKL

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

We now have a new General Manager at the hotel and our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Thank you.

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £78 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing