We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even close to value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not even close to value for the money”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Granted, the place has some charm. But the rooms are tiny and they were chincy in "extra fees". Cost to make a local phone call? Come on---who does that now? Free internet translates to 200 MB or something ridiculous like that--can't even power up your computer without using that. Any budget motel would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
I am sorry you were disappointed with our Wifi offerings. We do have 1 hour free available in the lobby. Our pricing guidelines are in line with our Company policy and most hotel chains in New Zealand.
Thank you for your feedback though and we do hope you enjoyed your stay overall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    261
    125
    57
    24
See reviews for
127
402
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Got a deal off Wotif. Stayed 2 nights while in Hanmer for a mates 50th Party. Just the wife and I this time. Room was great. Bathroom was great. Breakfast was fine. Service - desk staff were very pleasant and obliging. Lovely grounds and swimming pool. Perfect location in the township! Was a happy stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and for making the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed there one night in January. Nice old hotel but it comes with problems. Mainly the doors! When you are in bed, you feel like you are in the hallway, you can hear everything like if people outside were actually in your room. Other than that, decoration was nice. Wifi was tricky to operate. And I couldn't use my canadian visa cards (even though I had used them an hour before arriving and also again in town an hour later). It was fine for one night but it wouldn't be my first choice if I went to Hanmer again.

Room Tip: make sure you have ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goworldmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise that everything did not go as smoothly as we would have liked.
The Wifi had just been installed across the whole property prior to Christmas and there were a couple of teething problems that have since been resolved.
We do accept international credit cards although they are processed manually.
I hope you enjoyed your time in Hanmer overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

very nice stay in deluxe garden room. could of had a wee biscuit to eat with our complimentary coffee. bathroom ok but think bath should be ditched for a wet shower room instead. bedvery comfortable. quiet room. small patio area outside room to sit and relax. breakfast so so in very large dining room. welcoming staff on arrival. very annoying that bar was closed at 9pm in peak season. grounds very pleasant and well maintained.

Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Lynnelivesey,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Heritage Hanmer Springs as your accommodation provider. We look forward to hosting your again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is an older style hotel that has been sympathetically renovated. The rooms are smallish but our bathroom was generously sized with a full bath and plenty of space. In the room there is a lack of bag space and benches to put things on but the bed was very comfortable and good TV positioning for viewing. The hotel is well located in the middle of Hanmer Springs with an easy walk to shops and the hot springs. Our breakfast was included and was buffet style with a good choice in an interesting historic dining room. Staff were efficient without being anything special. We ate dinner at a local pub which we would recommend, as the hotel dining prices were too high for us. The Heritage is a good choice for hotel accommodation in Hanmer Springs and on our experience, you are unlikely to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room in the main section of the hotel had a pleasant view and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I would like to advise our Chef is currently reviewing the menus to ensure we have a range of food option and prices that appeal across the board.
Have a great 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

An excellent meal marred by poor service.
Lost booking, requested table not available, poor knowledge of the local wines on offer and every effort to close the restaurant while still dining in' spite of "dining till late" being advertised. It was 10pm on New Years Eve!. Then staff attempted to charge extra for using a credit eard.
The only bright spot was the manager saw sense and waived the "company policy" charge on the credit card.
This is not the standard expected of an international hotel in' a tourist centre. It is time to take a good hard look at the service you provide if you want to be recognised as a top class hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeDee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback and the kind words about some of the team.
I am sorry you found your restaurant experience to be disappointing and although we do have staff with English as a second language, they are encouraged to seek assistance if the communications do not flow smoothly. I am disappointed this was not the case for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Accomodation aquired in Villa 346 situated right by a small lake with ducks & their ducklings to greet ya each morning and as for our rooms what more could you say 6 of us stayed there with comfort , Dishwasher, Washing Machine, Flat Screen, Ipod radio, Great sleep had, etc yes comforts of home. As for the linen/cleaning service on a daily basis can not fault.
Suggestion though use your own Mobile, Ipad & data with local service connection no problem. Yes we're aussie's and would inform any of our friends to check out this part of the country. Would come back again hopefully when its winter its a photgraphic journey. Did not take in the hotel crusine/ menu offered we ate out. Special mention to Chef "aussie" steve whom has been helpful with my wife & sis-in-law quires & thanks for the cuppa.

Room Tip: Check out those 3bd room Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisnjulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words and have a happy 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Property: Heritage Hanmer Springs
Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing