We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Nearby Hotels
The St James(Hanmer Springs)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Hanmer Springs)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrogate Gardens Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalets Motel(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Alpine Garden Motel(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
272
301
137
63
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
301
137
63
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomno liftthe main hotelbuffet breakfasthotel restaurantoutdoor poollovely hotellovely groundstennis courtshot poolsfirst floorcentre of townthree bedroomroom was largecomfortable bedheat pumpnew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

From the street entrance, the hotel is most impressive. Inside is older style but well appointed. the bedroom was spacious and with good quality furnishings. The dining room was spacious and had a quality feel to it. The waitress was great with an engaging personality and an excellent knowledge of the food and wines. The menu had a commendable vegetarian selection, something we find often lacking and token.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Paul B,

Thank you for your recent review and for choosing Heritage Hanmer as your accommodation provider. Your kind comments have been shared with our staff and I am very pleased with their efforts. Thank you again for sharing your review with our readers and we hope you had a safe trip back to Dunedin.

Kind regards

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Disappointing quality of rooms. Dated. However clean and tidy.
Late night room service contained processed cheese in a toasted sandwich......Moist chocolate pudding however is highly recommended.
Service was fine.

Room Tip: In future would book a hotel room, not a garden villa.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Simon1989,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologise for your experience with regards to the room and assure that we are looking at refurbishment options in the near future. I have discussed your comments with our chef regarding the toasted sandwich and we will no longer use the cheese you mentioned.

Thank you again for your review and he certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We are a big fan of Heritage Hotels and chose to stay in three different properties when we visited New Zealand's South Island. The Heritage Hanmer Springs lived up to expectations. The hotel building and grounds are lovely but we chose to stay in a three bedroom villa overlooking a large pond with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. The hotel was very popular and the restaurant was sadly fully booked so we went into the town for our evening meal. The Heritage is really more of a resort than a hotel. It has an outdoor pool, tennis court and extensive grounds to explore. Our villa was lovely and we enjoyed curling up in the lounge area to watch a DVD after dinner. There were only two of us staying in the villa and we chose to use a bedroom downstairs rather than the upstairs master bedroom (bathroom facilities are downstairs). A very relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The villas are lovely - ideal for families.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear LBCLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers. It was great to read that you enjoyed our Villa's and that our hotel lived up to your expectations. Thank you again for your kind review and we certainly hope you visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bed Villa over looking the pond. We had all the space and comforts of home set in beautiful grounds with all the amenitys of a resort hotel. Location was perfect - just minutes walk to the thermal hot pools. Had a great time with the kids and will definately make the stay at the Heritage Hanmer Springs and annual visit. Only suggestion would be an up-grade of their own pool facilities. We only stay in hotels with pools for the kids.. But their pool was freezing and unusable really..

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Kelly H,

Thank you for your review and choosing Heritage Hanmer as your place of rest and relaxation. I have shared your experience with our staff and we were glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do close the pool area for the winter months and we will re-evaluate when we should start this from.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This year, end of March, we stayed with another couple in one of the villas (3 bedrooms). We had a view of the lake, the villa was provided with all one could wish for: ample cooking facilities, ipod dock in living room, fireplace, and great beds! One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in, quiet and peaceful and close to the pools. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yosey41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Yosey41,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was with great pleasure to hear you had a great experience with us and we certainly hope to host you again soon in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews