We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage Hanmer Springs our stay not long enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

WOW - I had not been to Hanmer Springs before - but will definately be going back. This quaint yet modern hotel had a team of the most friendly staff you would ever meet. The rooms were cosy, the food (and wine) delicious - what more can I say? Had a very sound nights sleep!

Room Tip: I would love a mountainview for the snowscape.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DixieW484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear DixieW484,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing you experience with our followers. I have shared your comments with our team and it was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always our aim to give our guests T.H.E Heritage Experience and we are happy to hear that you experienced this first hand.

We certainly hope to host you again in the future and we hope you have a safe trip back home to Australia.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

very good location, friendly staff, good dinner and breakfast, parking just outside the hotel, hot pools in a few minutes walking distance, free towels at reception to take to the pools, wine list was just okay though

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Janina R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and it is pleasing to hear that you found our service and facilities were to your satisfaction. I have spoken to our restaurant staff about our wine list and see if any improvements can be made. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a great time in a garden unit...the staff were so very accommodating bringing newspapers etc .very comfortable bed......good heating...totally private. Beautiful meal in restaurant,enjoyed a couple of 'happy hours' and lots of good chatter with other guests and staff.using the laundry later in the stay means you don't come home with a bag of washing
Would return in a heartbeat

Room Tip: If using the garden units or villas just remember that you are made very welcome in the main lodge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Elizabeth S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers and I am pleased to hear that you will return to visit us again in future. I have shared your comments with our team and we were glad to give T.H.E Heritage experience. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Nice hotel, very imposing and in a good position. Pleasant little town, nice walks available. Rooms are ok but some (ours as 221) only have narrow single beds, disappointing by New Zealand standards. Food is very good.

Room Tip: Insist on one with decent large beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Steve M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers and I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and we will take your comments regarding our singles beds into consideration. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed inside the main building this time and the room was dramatically better than the last time we stayed. The unit was very clean and it was great to get a weather report waiting for us on the bed. Spacious unit with separate lounge. The chairs were uncomfortable - to the point we didn't sit in the lounge. Please upgrade the TV's, the tiny square tvs are really really outdated.

Room Tip: inside the main building is better than the garden villa's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Down_South_Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Down_South_Katie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it was pleasing to hear that we surpassed your previous experience. I have taken your comments regarding our couches and Televisions on board and will hopefully have a satisfactory outcome to your suggestions. Thank you again for your time and we hope to host you again on your next trip to Hanmer Springs.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We rented a garden villa for the night. A hotel room in separate complex from main building. Is a lovely garden setting. Very quiet on a Sunday night but maybe busier on Saturday. Lovely room with a bath - always a bonus. Big comfortable bath robes
We ate at hotel restaurant and food was superb.
lovely open fire where you could sit in on sofas and have a drink.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Joanne M

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with our readers, we certainly appreciate your feedback and I am happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

we stayed in a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom villa for one night. The Villa had everything you could want when travelling with a group - large living area, full size kitchen and dining room, washing machine and dryer, fireplace as well as a heat pump and oil heaters in the rooms. Two bedrooms downstairs and one upstairs "loft" or mezzanine room with which is not fully enclosed (this room has the ensuite, shower and toilet) you wouldn't want to be a light sleeper and have this room as it overlooks the lounge, the main bathroom had a shower over bath.

The fireplace was a lovely touch and even though we were only there for a short time we had it lit and cosy in no time.
we would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Staynova,

Thank you for your recent review and for taking the time share your positive experience with our readers. Our Villa's are perfect for families and travelling groups as you mentioned and we were glad that you made full use of it. We hope your trip back home was a safe one and we look forward to your next visit to Heritage Hanmer Springs.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £81 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing