We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Institution”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting Institution”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Superb location, right smack in the middle of everything - park you car outside in the impressive open span car park then leave it there as most of the immediate attractions - shops, booking agents, restaurants, activities & even the Hot Pools are all within 2-3mins walk. They've done well to refurbish this old Institution but it does fall a little short of it's 'Boutique' status. I found the room to be very basic (223) 2 queen sized beds up against the wall, a make shift closet & cabinet to house the basic necessities - kettle, glasses, cups, robes, ironing board & spare blankets. Then the bathroom... all white, floor to ceiling + fixtures - too clinical/cold & hospital like for my taste. The walls seemed paper thin, you could hear everyone's conversations as they walked past to their rooms & unruly children running up & down the halls yelling & laughing was a real intrusion over top of the TV or our own conversation. This sized room would better suit having only the 1 bed in it off the main wall with maybe a desk or small seating area with a table for reading or in room dining. We had 3 people in this room so with only 1 seat & a small coffee table we had to consume room service on the beds & also lay about or sit on the beds for TV watching & generally hanging out. I am trying hard not to be too critical BUT it is 'The Heritage' so forgive me for having too high an expectation! On the upside - the staff were wonderful, friendly & helpful. All meals were delicious & the overall appearance & cleanliness of the entire complex was 2nd to none. We would stay here again but next time try a different room.

Room Tip: Try for rooms at the end of corridors to avoid noise from other patrons passing by. Check that your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjHpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear AnjHpr,

Thank you for your recent review and for sharing your experience with our readers. Your kind comments regarding our staff, service and food has been well received by our team which was great.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the room you stayed in and we have certainly taken your comments on board, I would recommend booking one of our Villa's for your next stay as it has more room to move and also the ability of being away from other guests.

Thank you for your kind comments and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    258
    125
    57
    24
See reviews for
127
395
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had an enjoyable one night stay in one of the Garden suites. The suite was a good size & very warm. Heating had been turned on when we arrived.
The treat me deal also gave us a voucher to use for food & beverage which we used to have dinner at their restaurant. We had great service & a lovely meal The Heritage has beautiful gardens & is close to all amenities in Hanmer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Karen S,

Thank you for your recent review and for sharing your experience with our readers. The Treatme deal we promoted was of really good value and we are glad to hear that you made full use of it. Thank you for your kind comments and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great weekend in Hanmer staying at the Heritage. Room was large and comfy although it would have been nice to have had a small table or desk. Lovely grounds and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Can't comment on the restaurant as we at out each night, but I'd recommend as a relaxing place to stay in Hanmer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murry_Cave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Murray_Cave,

Thank you for your recent review and it is always good to hear from our Senior Contributors. Thank you again for your kind comments and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

There is old world charm and modern convenience all rolled in to one in this hotel. Beautiful gardens, wonderful staff and delightful alpine village setting are the icing on the cake!
Arriving mid winter in early evening I was delighted to go to my room and find heating already turned on. My room was delightful - a separate lounge area was an unexpected bonus. The furnishings were very luxurious - tasteful classy and big.
Only changes I would have liked to see - free wifi in room. You had to buy this or could go to the lobby or restaurant and get one hour free. Inconvenient.
Bathroom floor felt like it was made of ice... Hard to retrofit under floor heating now - but would have been good!

Room Tip: I don't think my separate bedroom room was standard - I was just very pleased to have been lucky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Na0miNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Na0miNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing you experience with our readers. It is always pleasing to hear our guests enjoying their stay with us and we have taken on board your comments regarding the Wi-Fi. Thank you again for your review and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

WOW - I had not been to Hanmer Springs before - but will definately be going back. This quaint yet modern hotel had a team of the most friendly staff you would ever meet. The rooms were cosy, the food (and wine) delicious - what more can I say? Had a very sound nights sleep!

Room Tip: I would love a mountainview for the snowscape.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DixieW484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear DixieW484,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing you experience with our followers. I have shared your comments with our team and it was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always our aim to give our guests T.H.E Heritage Experience and we are happy to hear that you experienced this first hand.

We certainly hope to host you again in the future and we hope you have a safe trip back home to Australia.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

very good location, friendly staff, good dinner and breakfast, parking just outside the hotel, hot pools in a few minutes walking distance, free towels at reception to take to the pools, wine list was just okay though

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Janina R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and it is pleasing to hear that you found our service and facilities were to your satisfaction. I have spoken to our restaurant staff about our wine list and see if any improvements can be made. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a great time in a garden unit...the staff were so very accommodating bringing newspapers etc .very comfortable bed......good heating...totally private. Beautiful meal in restaurant,enjoyed a couple of 'happy hours' and lots of good chatter with other guests and staff.using the laundry later in the stay means you don't come home with a bag of washing
Would return in a heartbeat

Room Tip: If using the garden units or villas just remember that you are made very welcome in the main lodge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers and I am pleased to hear that you will return to visit us again in future. I have shared your comments with our team and we were glad to give T.H.E Heritage experience. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#11 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Property: Heritage Hanmer Springs
Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing