We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased. Had an amazing weekend with my beau!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Garden Suite for the weekend and really had an amazing time. The room was clean, fresh towels both days, shower was amazing, excellent atmosphere. The only downside was the room service we ordered. The burger was very oily, like soaking in oil. We arrived late and restaurants were already closed so we ordered room service. When my boyfriend had a bite of his burger, a lot of oil was dripping. The coconut meringue was great though. Still an amazing weekend anyway! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tin_p42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Tin_p42,

Thank you for your recent review and for sharing your experience with our readers. I will talk to our kitchen regarding your comments about the burger and hope to have a sound solution for you. Thank you for your kind comments and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed in one of the villas on a road trip down south. On a positive note dinner in the restaurant was excellent-extremely good value for the portion sizes and quality of food, and a good selection of wines. I wouldn't eat anywhere else in Hamner now. Breakfast was another story-extremely expensive for the buffet and very average. I would avoid. Accommodation was good-beware the photos make the villa rooms look far more "5 star" than they actually are; and let itself down by a few minor discrepancies: eg no milk for coffee, no cork screw, no kindling or paper for the fire. This all said we have stayed in most of the other accommodation places in hamner and this is probably the best of the lot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieatLigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear SusietLigar,

Thank you for your recent review and for sharing your experience with our readers. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our dinner service but with regards to your experience at breakfast this is something I will certainly look into as we have been receiving very good comments regarding the food and service.

Your comments about the Villa's have been taken on board and will talk to our housekeeping team about the lack of milk as this is provided as a standard. With regards to kindling, we actually do not have this in our Villa's but instead, have fire starters which actually work better.

Thank you for your kind comments and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Superb location, right smack in the middle of everything - park you car outside in the impressive open span car park then leave it there as most of the immediate attractions - shops, booking agents, restaurants, activities & even the Hot Pools are all within 2-3mins walk. They've done well to refurbish this old Institution but it does fall a little short of it's 'Boutique' status. I found the room to be very basic (223) 2 queen sized beds up against the wall, a make shift closet & cabinet to house the basic necessities - kettle, glasses, cups, robes, ironing board & spare blankets. Then the bathroom... all white, floor to ceiling + fixtures - too clinical/cold & hospital like for my taste. The walls seemed paper thin, you could hear everyone's conversations as they walked past to their rooms & unruly children running up & down the halls yelling & laughing was a real intrusion over top of the TV or our own conversation. This sized room would better suit having only the 1 bed in it off the main wall with maybe a desk or small seating area with a table for reading or in room dining. We had 3 people in this room so with only 1 seat & a small coffee table we had to consume room service on the beds & also lay about or sit on the beds for TV watching & generally hanging out. I am trying hard not to be too critical BUT it is 'The Heritage' so forgive me for having too high an expectation! On the upside - the staff were wonderful, friendly & helpful. All meals were delicious & the overall appearance & cleanliness of the entire complex was 2nd to none. We would stay here again but next time try a different room.

Room Tip: Try for rooms at the end of corridors to avoid noise from other patrons passing by. Check that your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnjHpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear AnjHpr,

Thank you for your recent review and for sharing your experience with our readers. Your kind comments regarding our staff, service and food has been well received by our team which was great.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the room you stayed in and we have certainly taken your comments on board, I would recommend booking one of our Villa's for your next stay as it has more room to move and also the ability of being away from other guests.

Thank you for your kind comments and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had an enjoyable one night stay in one of the Garden suites. The suite was a good size & very warm. Heating had been turned on when we arrived.
The treat me deal also gave us a voucher to use for food & beverage which we used to have dinner at their restaurant. We had great service & a lovely meal The Heritage has beautiful gardens & is close to all amenities in Hanmer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Karen S,

Thank you for your recent review and for sharing your experience with our readers. The Treatme deal we promoted was of really good value and we are glad to hear that you made full use of it. Thank you for your kind comments and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great weekend in Hanmer staying at the Heritage. Room was large and comfy although it would have been nice to have had a small table or desk. Lovely grounds and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Can't comment on the restaurant as we at out each night, but I'd recommend as a relaxing place to stay in Hanmer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Murry_Cave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Murray_Cave,

Thank you for your recent review and it is always good to hear from our Senior Contributors. Thank you again for your kind comments and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

There is old world charm and modern convenience all rolled in to one in this hotel. Beautiful gardens, wonderful staff and delightful alpine village setting are the icing on the cake!
Arriving mid winter in early evening I was delighted to go to my room and find heating already turned on. My room was delightful - a separate lounge area was an unexpected bonus. The furnishings were very luxurious - tasteful classy and big.
Only changes I would have liked to see - free wifi in room. You had to buy this or could go to the lobby or restaurant and get one hour free. Inconvenient.
Bathroom floor felt like it was made of ice... Hard to retrofit under floor heating now - but would have been good!

Room Tip: I don't think my separate bedroom room was standard - I was just very pleased to have been lucky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Na0miNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Na0miNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing you experience with our readers. It is always pleasing to hear our guests enjoying their stay with us and we have taken on board your comments regarding the Wi-Fi. Thank you again for your review and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

WOW - I had not been to Hanmer Springs before - but will definately be going back. This quaint yet modern hotel had a team of the most friendly staff you would ever meet. The rooms were cosy, the food (and wine) delicious - what more can I say? Had a very sound nights sleep!

Room Tip: I would love a mountainview for the snowscape.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DixieW484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear DixieW484,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing you experience with our followers. I have shared your comments with our team and it was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always our aim to give our guests T.H.E Heritage Experience and we are happy to hear that you experienced this first hand.

We certainly hope to host you again in the future and we hope you have a safe trip back home to Australia.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £78 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing