We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanmer Springs "best kept" Fine Dining Secret”

No.31 Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The former "Laurels" Restaurant re-opened its doors in May 2012, as "No.31 Restaurant & Bar", an A la Carte Restaurant specializing in modern European/New Zealand Cuisine. The restaurant is set in a quaint character cottage on the main street of Hanmer Springs. French doors open out to a lovely courtyard for alfresco dining and an outside bar leaner for pre-dinner drinks/cocktails in the warmer months. Inside the restaurant it is very homely, with an open fire, wooden floors and candle-lit tables. Award winning chef/owner, Michael van de Wiel ( previous chef/owner at "The Old Post Office Restaurant", Hanmer Springs, for 12 years). Fully Licensed and NOT BYO. Reservations Recommended.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Hanmer Springs "best kept" Fine Dining Secret”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We think (know) we stumbled on Hanmer Springs "best kept Fine Dining experience"- arrived at 5.30pm preferring an early meal-initially hesitant as we were the only Diners - wondering if we had made the right choice- but after being greeted by a bubbly waitress and checking the menu - we were pleasantly surprised- cannot remember the last meal we enjoyed so much on our travels - you have to experience it - your only challenge will be what to eat!! I loved the Mushroom entre and the duck was devine and the dessert just topped the whole thing off-Gorgeous premises - cosy and warm. We will return soon - we are sure it won't be long before this humble little Restaurant is a secret no more and we will definitely book to ensure we are not disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    91
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service in a nice setting - and it's BYO”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Our family of 4 adults had dinner at No 31 last Saturday. The restaurant was lovely and warm (fireplace and heat pumps) despite a frosty night. The waiting staff were pleasant and helpful without hovering. The tables were sufficiently spaced that you didn't feel aware of other people.

We each selected different food choices and we all enjoyed every one of our 3 courses. Highlights were the duck, the lamb, the licorice pudding and the ginger nut ice cream!

Finding out the restaurant was happy for us to bring our own wine was a real plus. $10/bottle corkage seemed fine to us. The wine list looked reasonable also.

Overall a lovely evening. We will happily eat here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful night!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Food was exquisite, lovely surroundings.
Fantastic service!
Yummy Cocktails
A real pleasure

Helpful?
Thank Mccabefamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Friendly, cosy, delicious experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Good service, lovely relaxed atmosphere and the food was divine. The White chocolate mousse desert with ginger ice-cream was unforgetable.

From Heather S

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Warm and Welcoming”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I love the fact they have made this little restaurant fancy! The lamb was tender and the chocolate mousse was rich. A nice place to go after a day at the hot pools!! Would recommend to everyone that chooses to go to Hanmer Springs as part of their travels to NZ.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No.31 Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to No.31 Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing