We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

No.31 Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The former "Laurels" Restaurant re-opened its doors in May 2012, as "No.31 Restaurant & Bar", an A la Carte Restaurant specializing in modern European/New Zealand Cuisine. The restaurant is set in a quaint character cottage on the main street of Hanmer Springs. French doors open out to a lovely courtyard for alfresco dining and an outside bar leaner for pre-dinner drinks/cocktails in the warmer months. Inside the restaurant it is very homely, with an open fire, wooden floors and candle-lit tables. Award winning chef/owner, Michael van de Wiel ( previous chef/owner at "The Old Post Office Restaurant", Hanmer Springs, for 12 years). Fully Licensed and NOT BYO. Reservations Recommended.
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We read the reviews for this restaurant and expected a lovely dinner. But we were disappointed! Food was very average, everything was covered in some kind of creamy sauce. Even the fries were not very nice! Overall very underwhelming. Service was very average also. Probably wouldn't go back here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PJD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opohanmer, Manager at No.31 Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hi there and thank you for your review, the meal you had was a special we had introduced in the school holidays for those that wanted a simple and affordable Meal. Grilled Chicken Breast with a mushroom and bacon cream sauce, dutch fries and salad greens. This meal does not reflect the style of food we produce but caters to the families that are around this time of year . Maybe you should have chosen dishes from our a la carte menu to experience what our restaurant is all about .
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 692 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great fresh ingredients and well presented food. We had lamb shank that was very good...a neighboring table raved about the salmon.

Thank before75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

the food is great but if your looking for a good evening to enjoy your friends than this is not the place to go. if you want good food but can not stay around than that's fine. they have you on a time frame as they book back to back. not advised or would not have gone there.

2  Thank comm-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opohanmer, Manager at No.31 Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your meal at our establishment. Firstly, I would like to clarify that we certainly do not double book all our tables. In this case, your table of four people was changed to six which resulted in us using a neighboring table ,which was booked two hours after your booking. This was a busy evening and I am very sorry you felt rushed , we kindly asked if we could remove the extra table for our waiting guests and would have been happy for you to sit for the rest of the evening. I am sorry for the communication breakdown and hope you will return to experience our relaxed dining atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

There was a mix up over our booking I had made a week before which wasn't a good start, but once there all was great. The atmosphere was just right & the food was to perfection from the starter through to the dessert. The wine match was just right. We will definitely be returning & have been recommending No 31 to our family & friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vennieanakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We had not booked well enough in advance so had to opt for an early dining time of 5.30pm in order to dine here on a Saturday night - we are so pleased we did! The service was friendly, the surroundings stylishly comfortable and the food was fantastic. Would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking for a quality meal in Hanmer - just make sure you book in advance!!

Thank BringOnTheFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No.31 Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to No.31 Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing