We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average pizza”

Piccolino's Cafe Italino
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average pizza”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We came in for a quick bite here. It was very quiet so did lack atmosphere. We ordered two large pizzas - which we could have ordered one and it would have been plently. The pizzas were pretty good - I wouldn't say great but I wouldn't say bad. Could have done with a little more topping. Staff seemed a little unorganised, but friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    26
    21
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
motueka
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cold Pizza”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We decided to eat in the motel to watch rugby on TV. So we ordered a pizza to be delivered. Took 35 minutes from ordering to knock on door. Our motel just 5 minutes walk from town centre. On opening box found that the pizza was stone cold. Rang restaurant and I was asked "what do you want us to do". When I said I wanted pizza replaced was told need to speak to manager. Pizza was replaced and arrived 15 minutes later with a complimentary bag of fries. Lady that delivered admitted that she could not find our room and that is why first one took so long. The best part of the pizza was the fries.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeff_motueka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Almost impossible to get good food without a very long wait”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Having been to Hanmer Springs quite often, we have tried several times to either buy a take away here or eat in the restaurant. Sadly, the staff almost depressingly look at you as if it were natural and without apology and say " its at least one hour before I can fill your order regardless of wanting a take away or if you want to eat in. The one and only time we were able to eat there (goodness knows how long ago) we found the pizzas to be freshly cooked and good eating.
What staggers all of us as a family and other friends i have spoken to about Piccolino's is that with the obviously good food available, why not do something about the very obvious problem of not being able to serve those who would really like to support Piccolinos but cannot wait 1 hour + for food? 30 minutes is reasonable and we all believe that should be a real target instead of the miserable greeting we have been given so many times by someone who is most likely tired of disappointing the hopeful faces standing in front of her.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieC566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice pizza”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We had a meat ball pizza p&p(pork and poultry) pizza and chips. The pizzas were both nice the meet ball not to spicy service was fast and friendly

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ditto. Basic pizza. Middle of the road.”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

4 different pizzas tried by the family. No real complaints but nothing special either. Medium is enough for one adult with average appetite.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiGringo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccolino's Cafe Italino also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Piccolino's Cafe Italino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing