We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best quad biking in New Zealand!”

Hanmer Springs Adventure Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$101.59*
and up
Small-Group Quad ATV Biking in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are an adventure tourism company specializing in Quad bike tours, clay bird shooting, archery and also rent/ service mountain bikes. We also have a wide range of outdoor equipment that changes with the seasons.
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A must if you are in Hanmer springs! We had a great time, they drove us out to their purpose built tracks through the hills and rivers, we had a safety talk and had an excellent test track so we could get use to the bikes. From there we went through the trees, water crossings and up hills, it was great because they were able to cater the tour to our ability, so as we started off slow we actually got to go up some really cool hills and have an awesome view of the the Hanmer valley! Great fun, do it!

Thank andakol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer_Adventure, Manager at Hanmer Springs Adventure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your review, there is nothing better than to have someone enjoy our tour so much that they would stay and work with us, welcome aboard our team Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

My brother and dad went out quad biking with these guys for the 2 and a half hour trip and it was pretty fun overall. However, the 2 and a half hours only turned out to be an hour and a half of actual quad biking so at $149ea it was pretty pricey. We had a good time and the scenery was nice but overall it wasn't too exciting, maybe our expectations were a little too high. As everyone had to travel in single file you could only go as fast as the person in front of you and it was near impossible to interact with anyone else whilst on the bikes making it pretty unsocial. Would have been a lot more entertaining if everyone had a little bit more freedom and they weren't as uptight. No one was allowed to skid, drift or have too much fun whilst on their bikes and when me and my brother went a bit sideways on some corners we were threatened to be left behind with our bikes shut off and keys taken away. We were warned beforehand, fair enough, but after 40 minutes or so of pretty tame driving we thought we'd try get our moneys worth. Overall I'd give it 3.5/5 with slight disappointments in all areas, mostly due to it being an hour shorter than what we paid for. A good day out, could have been far better.

Thank Tripadvizerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross_Carter, Owner at Hanmer Springs Adventure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

We are sorry to hear that the tour did not live up to your expectations, we have talked to the guide on that day and he agrees that he could have done a lot better. Our customer’s enjoyment is very high on our list of priorities along with safety, therefore we make sure everyone has a great time. We do travel in single file and the reason for this is because the track is narrow and has steeper gradients in places, this is by far the safest and most enjoyable way to ride on our tracks through the mountains. We also do not allow drifts and skids as mentioned at the start of the trip because quad biking has risks and some riders can go beyond their abilities, which is how accidents happen. We have a very good safety record and our visitor’s book tells us that everyone has an enjoyable trip, and loves the scenery.
The tour that day did finish earlier which is against company policy and we have spoken to the guide about this. Our 2.5 hour trip generally has about 2 hours riding time, we apologize for this discrepancy. This is the first time we have had such a complaint, we regret that this has happened and we would like to offer the 3 customers a 50% discount on their next visit. In Hanmer Springs we are regarded as the number 1 quad biking company and our trips are highly recommended and supported by our fellow businesses.
Kind regards,
Ross Carter
( Owner / Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We did a couple of hours quad biking with these guys and it was one of the highlights of our NZ trip. It had been raining the night before so the amount of mud flying everywhere was just great, there are photos of me doing a creek crossing and you can't see me or the bike, there's so much spray! It was fun, fast and the guide was knowledgeable and extremely funny. I would highly recommend doing this, even for novices as they go through training before you go out on the ride. Great views from the top of a nearby mountain and you get a free photo CD of your ride as well.

Thank BrizVegaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

A great experience for a bunch of novices, we got wet and muddy and had faces full of grit and dirt- everything you could ask for.
Some speed, some water, mud, hills and technical areas. This was just great.

1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Went on 2 1/2 hour Quad bike experience, was fantastic !
3 riders all beginners but that did not mean we were on the boring tracks, great views and heaps of fun. Lots of water, mud and hills and heaps of Smiles! They suppled protective clothing. Included in the price they take photos of the whole thing and put it on a customised disk for you at the end of the trip. A definite must do for the whole family.

2  Thank BrisTravellerKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanmer Springs Adventure Centre also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hanmer Springs Adventure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing