We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location”
Review of Alpine Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Lodge Motel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Close to hot pools and town, very quiet which was surprising as it was fully booked. Good size for a single room. One negative - would like to have seen a heater or heat lamp in bathroom as that was freezing (-6 degree night!). We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Right in the center of town and across the road from the thermal pools the Alpine Lodge motel is fantastic value for money ($120 NZD for two adults). Easy, short walking distance to town with convenient access to great restaurants, cafes and bars, novelty shops, supermarket and the bakery. Larger style room (queen and single with sink, fridge, dining table and lounge in front of TV, wood paneled room, with coffee/tea making facilities). It had clean well maintained furniture and quality fixtures. The room had front and rear access which could be used to walk to town instead of walking around the back through the car park to enter. They have free ample off street parking right outside your room. The bathroom has heat lamps to create a warm room whilst showering and the oil heater in the lounge/bedroom was more than adequate to warm the place when it dropped to 3 degrees outside. The bed was firm although comfortable and resulted in a good nights sleep. The high ceiling in the room was good as it made the room feel bigger and more spacious. They offer free towels to be taken to the thermal pools at no extra charge and are more than accommodating on any request. No hassles. Would stay again. Highly recommended for the price and location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluntly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This motel is right across the street from the pools and nearby to the main part of town. It's perfect for its location. It looks like a really cute wodern alpine motel from the outside but it's actually quiet dated inside. It's was definitely a tired and old room and there were a few little things in our room that was broken, like the TV remote and light was flicking in the bathroom. It was also a bit pricey for what it is but it was a busy weekend in Hamner. The walls are also quiet thin so you can hear the murmurs and snoring from next door. Apart from that it was very clean and comfortable. The shower works perfectly and there is plenty of space in the room. They also have a cupboard with plates, cups, kettle, toaster, fridge, tea and coffee which is handy. Parking is no problem there too.

Room Tip: Front rooms towards the street appear to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lu_rvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Expensive for what it is, we thought. I suppose you have to pay top dollar for location, but that is probably all these motels now have. Very outdated miniature showers, with blocked shower nozzles and all could do with a good make over.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Nice staff, very clean, wood paneled room, great location, just seemed a little expensive

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliMoz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We paid for a tower room and we paid alot for this room and I was dissapointed to find it is right by the road and everyone walking past could see in unless the curtains were closed which made the room dark. While the bed may look nice in pictures it was not that good to sleep in the bed head was not fixed to anything and everytime one of us shifted it rattled and banged. The biggest issue we had was there is no sound proofing between our roof and the floor of the people upstairs and we could hear them everytime they moved and the doors opening and closing etc 'all night long'. I was very dissapointed with this Motel.

Room Tip: Choose one without someone over top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were allowed to check-in 2hrs early to our room. Log cabin style accommodation, looks great but not ideal for sound insulation so expect creaking if the wind is blowing and if you have loud neighbours you will hear them! Comfortable bed, basic kitchen utensils, small bathroom. Very high ceiling making it hard to kill the flies but fly spray was provided within the room! Were given free towels to use at the thermal pools which is just across the road.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this accommodation if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank untermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Garden Motel
Alpine Garden Motel
#16 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#17 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge Motel

Address: 1 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £66 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Lodge Motel is a charming motel located in the heart of the alpine village and set in beautifully maintained gardens. With our fabulous location, it is an easy stroll to all the fine shops, cafes, bars and restaurants that Hanmer Springs has to offer, as well as a quick hop across the road to the famous Thermal Pools! We are renowned for our impressive round tower and suites with very unique super-king sized ROUND BEDS. Also, with our great selection of studios, chalets, family units and luxury suites, we remain a very popular choice with all of our visitors. All of our units are serviced daily, our car park is private from the road and we have 5 SKY Channels and yes, 2 of them are sports channels so you won’t miss that crucial match! Hanmer Springs has a lot to offer, starting with the Thermal Pools, horse riding, walking and mountain bike tracks (many tracks from beginner to advanced accessible from the end of our street), mini golf, a fun maze, fishing and skiing. For the more adventurous of you there’s Thrillseekers which can provide bungy jumping, jet boating, white water rafting and quad biking to name a few, all of which you can book from our reception. For those who want to relax and unwind, grab a DVD from reception and chill out in your room. With 24 units we can easily accommodate from large groups to people traveling alone, families to special occasions, we have something for everyone! Whatever you are looking for, Alpine Lodge Motel can provide. We look forward to seeing you soon! Your Friendly Hosts: Ash and Emma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Alpine Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing